Agata

  • Poland
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Netherlands - from Jan 2022 until Feb 2022
    View all
  • Description

    I decided to join workaway as I believe it's an amazing way to explore country's culture and meet new people. I love travelling and experiencing new things every day. I can't stay at one place for too long - I have a true wanderer's soul. I am open - minded, easy going and eager to meet people who I can share some positive vibes with.


    Ever since I've graduated from university in 2019, I've been travelling and trying to find a place in the world that would simply make me happy. I've been working in many places, doing different things in order to find out what would suit me best and make me feel truly fulfilled.
    I spent few months in Spain as an au pair living with Spanish-Argentinian family where I was taking care of 4 kids.

    I was working in England for one month for a company that was producing composite kits for a wind blade industry. I also worked as a picker packer on an assembly line in a salad factory.

    I spent five months in Iceland working in a cleaning company where my responsibility was to clean after renovation of the US embassy. After hours I was cleaning some offices. It was really tiring and intense time as I working very hard to save enough money for my next travels but I recall the time spent there as one of my best experiences so far. I consider Iceland as a place where my heart belongs - I love its raw landscapes, breath taking northern lights and wonderful waterfalls. Whenever I wasn't working, I was taking short trips to explore the beauty of this amazing island. Apart from that, one year before I moved there, I spent 12 days hitchhiking and I made circle around Iceland.

    I went to Croatia where I was staying at the summer house by the sea. I was responsible for making the summer houses ready for the guests.

    Last year, in February, I was finally ready to make my biggest dream come true - I went to USA to participate in cultural exchange program called Au pair in America. I stayed with an American family where I was taking care of two boys (1,5 years old and 3,5 years old). Unfortunately, the pandemic made my stay there really hard. First couple of weeks were normal but then everything shut down and I wasn't being able to benefit from this experience the way I was supposed to. I couldn't go out, meet people, travel or participate in classes at the university. I made one of the hardest decision in my life and decided to quit the program even though my contract was signed for one year with a possibility to extend for another year. I was heartbroken as I knew there is no way I could sign up for this experience ever again as the rules say you can only be an au pair in USA until you are 27 years old. I felt unhappy and lonely there so I understood I need to do what's the best for me at that time, which was going back home. I felt relieved I could look after my mom during this hard times where everything was really uncertain and covid situation made us all truly scared. I spent very peaceful and calm moments in Poland that summer still trying to deal with the failure that I didn't completed my year in the USA.

    I've been wanting to go to France for grapes picking for few years as I heard from some travelers that it's an awesome experience but I never had a chance to do so. Last year I decided to go all the way from Poland to France by hitchiking to check it out myself. I wasn't able to find any job online but I went anyway and managed to find it there. I spent almost a month working at the field, enjoying good wine and company of people from different parts of the world. That was the time when France, its culture and language appealed to me. Even though I can't speak French, I am trying to learn at least some basics.

    After fulfilling time in France I knew that one day I want to be back. I went to Poland for a bit and started to give private English lessons to young kids. I wanted to try something associated with my profession, not only babysitting, something more meaningful. I enjoyed preparing lessons and spending time with my students a lot but after some time I realized Poland is not my place. In the middle of January I left for France and started to work in mushroom factory (champignones Paris). My time here is coming to an end so I thought that workaway would be a perfect way to spend more time in France and be a part of cultural exchange.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am great with children, I have wide experience in that area. I was studying pedagogics - I am kindergarten and preschool teacher. I did internship in nursery, kindergarten and school in Poland. I was an au pair in Spain and in USA, I've been taking care of children from newborn to teenagers. I speak fluent English and communicative Spanish. In Poland, I teach children English,
    I like to keep things and places clean and tidy - I am accurate, focused on details and really good at cleaning. I love animals, especially cats so I would be happy to take care of them.
    I can easily adapt to any job, as long as I don't need to work very fast.
    I am happy to learn new things.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I would like to learn basics of French language. I really like the sound of this language and wanted to get to know it since I came to France for the first time to work in grapes harvest. I've been staying in France for over a month now and I am excited to learn French with a workaway host. I am happy to teach English and Polish as well as practice my Spanish.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    28

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I don't eat meat and I am trying to eat as healthy as possible.

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback