Andrea

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/06/2019 - 10/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    *️️️️*️️️️Looking to volunteer in North India: Rajasthan, Uttarakhand or Himachal Pradesh- but I'm also open to other locations depending on how my plans progress!

    Hello! I'm Andrea and I am currently living in East Java, Indonesia.
    For the past two years I have been teaching English is a rural village in Java- teacher, mentor, community member-experiencing full integration, fluency in Bahasa Indonesia, and accustomed to the culture and way of life.

    Firstly, I'm looking to experience culture, preferably with an Indian family because I like a sense of community. Any exchange of culture/language/religion, I love!

    In the past I have:
    -babysat
    -volunteered at a Bed and Breakfast
    -volunteered on a small sustainable farm
    -served and bartended at a club in the US
    -tutored adults in English
    -taught high school students and elementary school kids English
    -worked in numerous summer camps in schools K-12

    Things I love:
    -NATURE! Farming and gardening is my work of choice!
    -Kids! Children are the best and I always enjoy working with them.
    -Teaching- exchanging knowledge is a beautiful aspect of any relationship
    -Culture- learning traditions, beliefs, values
    -Language- being able to speak someone's mother tongue is so important!
    -Religion- I myself am not religious but I love learn about religion everywhere
    -Art- I love making it (even though I'm not very good), learning new art skills :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    -teaching English
    -environment/farming/composting/gardening/etc. ALWAYS willing to learn more about this!
    -hospitality
    -nanny
    -working with kids- in camps/school

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Indonesian: Fluent

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I am always searching for ways to improve myself to not only better myself but also better the community and other individuals in society. I love to meet new people and learn new things. I love the environment. I love working with and meeting new people ("team work makes the dream work")!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am vegan- no meat, fish, dairy, egg

Photos

Feedback