Alaire

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/10/2018 - 10/11/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! I am a spry, adventurous traveler en route from Alaska and am looking to stay someplace near Asheville for the next couple of weeks before starting a full time farm gig outside of Durham.
    I have some experience in farming and gardening, most of which came from my time in Oregon. I was a garden manager for a year at my college, part time at a farm during fall harvest, part time during spring planting, and full time during early summer harvest.

    However, most of my experience working outside comes from growing up doing subsistence, recreation, yard work, and fisheries work in Southeast Alaska. I’m tough, strong, smart, and a hard worker.

    I am enthusiastic, energetic, and goofy. I love learning about other people as well as sharing whatever knowledge, skills, and experiences I have to offer. I’m passionate about justice and helping people, and have spent most of my adult life doing community organizing non profit work. Right now, I’m looking for a break from the non profit world, and a chance to help grow something more tangible than social change.

    I’d love to get to know you and help you out with whatever you’ve got going on!!

  • What skills do you have?

    Basic farming: direct seeding, starting starts, transplanting, weeding, bed prep, rotor tilling, hand tilling, harvest (carrots/root veggies, lettuce, kale, peas, beans, tomatoes, peppers, etc....)
    Basic carpentry/woodworking: I’ve assisted in putting up siding, building a bench and night stand.
    Organizational: I have done a lot of spreadsheet, data management/analysis, website updating, volunteer coordinating, etc

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I’m so excited to be in the south for the first time!!!!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Not that I know of

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback