Adolph & Elena

From: Germany & Belarus

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belarus, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Netherlands ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2020 - 16/08/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are an international couple from South Africa (Adolph) and Belarus (Elena) we met in Germany while doing a Masters degree. Now we are married and have a 3-year-old daughter who travells with us. We are working at the Uni Göttingen (Adolph teaches English and Elena lecturers religious studies and supervises internatioal students) and parallel we both are writing PhDs in Religious Studies.
    We wish to not be bound to one place, and wish to learn and experience new things. We love learning about cultures, local traditions and foods. We conducted ethnographic field research in Ethiopia, South Africa and Eastern Europe and want to continue learning from people all around the world.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Adolph is an English teacher with experience of teaching adults and children, he plays saxophone, flute, guitar and a little bit of piano, sings and recently started to learn balalaika, mandolin, banjo and would love to teach and share.
    He worked with horses and volunteered at a veterinarian for a while in South Africa. He also worked at an NGO project with HIV-positiv orphans. Elena has experience in organising events and conferences and event photography. She does cross stitching and blackwork, you can look at her works at http://welcomeembroidery.wordpress.com/. She also used to work as a school teacher, and now teaches students about religious traditions and iconography. Her PhD is about Chernobyl consequenses and nuclear memory.

    As we have to take care for a child, we cannot work as much as before physically, so we prefere language orientated work right now. We will be glad practicing English with you and your kids, play games and sing songs in English. However, we are more than happy to assist with usual daily farm work and maitenence. We enjoy cooking our national dishes and present our cultures and traditions.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Afrikaans: Intermediate
    German: Intermediate
    Esperanto: Intermediate
    Xhosa: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    32 & 33

  • Nationality

    South African (Adolph); Belarusian (Elena)

  • What else ...

    Attention toddler on board :)

    To work with interesting people and acquire unique skills is more important for us than to get good accommodation, so it would not be a problem for us to share a tiny room.

    We travel with our 3 year old daughter who is used to backpacking living conditions so no extra kid furniture or food is not required.

    We are currently working on our PhD dissertation at the Göttingen University, so we are trying to stay close to this area.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Not a requirement, but a preference - Healthy eating ( we are not big fans of fast food and instant noodles; we are trying to eat more vegetables, we eat meat and even though we are trying to avoid unhealthy food we are not very strict about it :)

Photos

Feedback