Natalia & André

From: Spain & Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/08/2018 - 30/06/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We're André from Germany and Natalia from Spain and we are on our trip around the world. We find traveling is a great way to discover new landscapes and trying new things which we think make us grow as people and help us be more open minded. Before working in Perth for nine months we traveled for about a year through central asia.

    Now we are on our big lap around Australia. Sadly, under the current circumstances we find ourselves in a difficult situation. Going back home is almost impossible as flights are scarce and expensive but continuing our trip is not reasonable at this time.

    However we'd like to use this situation to learn new skills and put the ones we already have to use in exchange for accommodation and food, hoping to continue our lap around this beautiful country when this is over. We're always keen to meet new people, cooking together and helping where we can.

    COVID19 Update:
    We arrived to Australia mid April 2019 and have been self-isolating on a farm in central NSW for the past seven weeks.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    We love being outdoors and nature and we try to be as active as possible. We have a soft spot for animals. Even though we haven't had much contact with farm animals we'd love to learn how to take care of them.
    We both have different sets of skills which we think together make a great team:
    André worked in logistics back home and one of his hobbies was restoring old Mercedes Benz so he knows his way around cars. In Perth he worked for nine months as a marine piledriver and as a part of the maintenance crew for the same company. He used all kinds of hand tools, worked on crane and boat engines and did a lot of steel fabricating. He can drive a forklift and other big machines that had to be moved around the yard. He has a great eye for detail and rather finish the job then finish the day early.
    Back home he used to work with his friends in a garden project. Furthermore he helped a lot of people renovating houses. Painting, preparing dry walls or just remove the old interior we're just some of his tasks.

    Natalia studied tourism and worked in all sorts of hospitality jobs such as a receptionist and later in assistant to the manager in a small hotel in the heart of Barcelona. Moreover she would help housekeeping if there was a lot of work.
    One of her favorite things to do is cooking and she loves trying new recipes as well as improving traditional Spanish recipes from her family. While in school and University Natalia babysitted for family members and neighbors very often and loves being around kids. Furthermore, she loves animals. Living in a city she wasn't around many animals but would often go on weekend trips with the family dog and would use any excuse to be around animals. Her grandparents have an orange orchid where she would help picking the oranges and planting and harvesting other vegetables.

    Neither of us mind getting our hands dirty. We are very proactive and fast learners. We love animals and nature.

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    27 & 33

  • What else ...

    We enjoy every kind of outdoor activities such as hiking, camping, kayaking and 4 wheel driving.
    Natalia loves boardgames like Catan, Risk and any card games. She enjoys reading, specially science fiction and fantasy.
    André loves working with wood and would make some furniture for his apartment in his free time.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback