Andrew

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/11/2018 - 31/12/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    I live in central southern England and am available from the middle of September 2020 to work, ideally in Southern France. It has long been my ambition, even before I retired, to live and work in France to learn the language and fully appreciate the culture (and, of course, the wine and food!).
    I am married with two grown up children. My wife is a teacher and fully supports my ambition. We spent many happy holidays in France as the children were growing up and I would like to return to live and work for periods of time with native speaking French people.
    After leaving school I went to university to study biology and then qualified as a secondary school teacher. I taught biology, science and sport and after a couple of years I moved into HR Management and Training and Development. The remainder of my working life has been in this field culminating in the role of Academy Training Manager for a prestige motor manufacturer responsible for the Middle East and North Africa markets, based in Dubai.
    I am now available to travel and am really looking forward to having an opportunity to help you.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    My skills for Workaway relate to the help I can give as shown above. During my working life I developed interpersonal, management and training skills.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    67

  • Nationality

    United Kingdom

  • What else ...

    I am a fairly practical person and, having spent most of my working life working in an office environment, I love being outside and using my hands. We have quite a large garden with apple trees, raspberries, blackcurrants, cherries, strawberries and a grape vine as well as a big lawn. We do all our own gardening in addition to house decorating, general maintenance and wood collecting for our fire in the winter.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback