David

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Nepal, Papua New Guinea, Philippines

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/10/2018 - 01/05/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi!
    My name is Dave, I am from England and am travelling in South Asia for the 3rd time for around 6 months. I love to build, fix and make anything and everything and working with my hands. I am an adventurous, adaptable and unfussy person not adverse to living in basic conditions and working hard. I like being close to nature and experiencing both simple traditional and unusual lifestyles.
    I have worked variously as an analytical chemist, luthier (instrument maker), carpenter, in the kitchen and more recently as a construction engineer. I especially love working with wood but would also love to learn anything about mechanics, electronics and boat building and sailing. I also know very well about construction with concrete but would be interested to transfer these skills in to more sustainable building practices.
    I can bring a lot of good energy, enthusiasm and ideas to a project and am used to creating something from nothing. I am a dreamer but I believe that it is possible to make these dreams reality with hard work and application.
    I am a painter and enjoy documenting my travels with paintings. I also like to camp and have camped and trekked throughout the Indian Himalayas and have lived for some time in a commune. I love to hear peoples stories and dreams for the future.
    I have so far been on workaway in Malaysia building a house and furniture and now am in Sumatra building a watehouse. I am really mostly interested in jobs that involve some carpentery aspect and would love to learn from people that know about working with wood, or just put some wood in front of me in any form and I will use what tools I can find to make something of it!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Construction and building
    Planning construction works
    Jungle joinery
    Green wood carpentery
    Fine woodworking
    Furniture making
    Wood carving
    Cooking
    Painting
    Designing
    Problem solving
    Helping with English

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    29

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback