Jessica & Brian

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Antigua and Barbuda, Bosnia and Herzegovina, China, Croatia, Georgia, Greece, Indonesia, Malaysia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Portugal, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Serbia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/12/2014 - 01/01/2024

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We are a happily married couple who have come to a stage of life in which we are free to develop friendships and experiences globally, now approaching 5 years of nomadism. We are fun loving, easy-going, easy to know people with a great deal of life experience. Want to have a jam session with wonderful pies, breads and eclectic foods? We love to make friends in this way. Want to share your stories and hear ours? We have a keen interest in others and the paths they have taken or will take. As a couple we draw strength from each other and this is also how we relate to the world. We all have something to share. Most of all we are "Willing"!!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We bring numerous skills. Years of working with people doing social work and human services, different teaching skills including teaching English as a foreign language; life coaching, teaching self healing methods, and counseling. Brian has been employed at a professional level of cooking, food preparation and procuring. We have enjoyed vegetable, perennial, medicinal herb, and fruit gardening in the rural mountains of northern Vermont, USA. A cherished experience has been raising 4 fine children with a child centered philosophy and have had the humble priveledge of providing palliative care for 2 sets of parents. We assisted in the construction of our home, including painting, interior design and exterior design/maintainence. At our homestead we delightfully maintained llamas, ducks, chickens, dogs, cats and salt water fish tanks. Early years included for Jess running a health food cooperatives and later, developing a health food buying club when rural life precluded co-op availability. I guess you could say, we are fairly versatile and open to working hard at whatever project is at hand, as long as it does not include snow-blowing a long Vermont driveway.

  • Languages spoken

    English and some Spanish

  • Age

    56 & 67

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    We have entered into a new, nomadic life now that our children are launched and we have sold our home in the USA. We aspire to work with others in service to endeavors that are close to our values of kindness, ecology, and making merit. We hope to work with like minded folks, learn and participate in new cultures to us and share joy of life by breaking bread, doing good works and sharing stories, music and deep satisfaction of belonging. Being on the water sailing and in the water scuba diving are passions of ours as is being close to the Earth in every way possible through trekking and exploring - or simply getting delightfully lost in nature.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Jess is a vegetarian

Photos

Farming in eastern Nepal
Sustenance farming in Nepal
Sidhartha Academy in Kathmandu, Nepal
Giggling glamor shot -Patan Durbar Square, Nepal
School trip, Patan Durbar Square - Nepal
Balinese Hindu Ceremony
SCUBA diving in Bali
Fishing with a local family in Flores, Indonesia.
Singing with the children at Thabarwa Center in Burma.
Returning in the bus after helping monks with collecting alms in Yangon, Burma.

Feedback