Benedict

From: Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, France, Germany, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/10/2018 - 19/12/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    148

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    My name is Benedict, I’m 21 years old, I was born in England but raised and lived practically my whole life in Italy.
    Two years ago I travelled to the Czech Republic and worked as a volunteer in a hostel in Prague for a month doing various jobs such as: working at reception, where I helped check-in backpackers arriving and giving them information about the city and also housekeeping duties, learning how to change 80 or 90 beds very quickly. I also had to prepare and serve the breakfast in the morning. The experience overall was great and I had a lot of fun.
    
Last Summer I went to South Africa for a work experience again as a volunteer. I stayed there for a month working at a rehabilitation centre for monkeys. The working day was from 7 am till 4 pm every day with one afternoon off per week. We were divided into teams and the jobs included: cleaning the monkeys’ enclosures; cleaning and chopping fruit with machetes to feed the monkeys; searching for and harvesting grass from the bush as other food to feed them. There were also a lot of general cleaning jobs to do around the site. The first few days were tough getting used to the work schedule and a new culture but after a week I really got into it and got to know a lot of the other volunteers and the whole experience was really satisfying and enjoyable.

    In December I went to Germany for a couple of weeks to do a language course in Berlin.
    While this year I did my first Workaway in Spain, it was really well organised, the hosts were really nice and each day we had various jobs to do. This was it: https://www.workaway.info/26273942294c-en.html

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm usually a fast learner with most jobs, I can speak and understand: Spanish English and Italian, I'm quite good with computers

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish, French, German, Italian and English. My English and Italian are fluent to a high level; Spanish B2, French B1 and German B1.

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    In my free time I either go out and play football with my friends or go out cycling or running. I tend to run 3 times a week. Also I like to spend time on my computer: using iMovie (computer program) for making creative videos.
    I also enjoy travelling and especially being able to communicate with people from different countries, discovering new cultures and making a contribution to the place I'm staying in.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Profile is connected to:

Tom1209


Feedback