Alexx

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/02/2020 - 08/03/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hey workaway world :) I'm excited to be back on the road in this huge country. I'm traveling the west with my dog Yogi in a van and we're an open book...following our noses to new experiences. I love connecting with humans and animals on playful and deep levels. I'm a high-energy, yet laid back, very organized human who enjoys the simple pleasures in life.
    I'm slowly meandering around the west coast and value meeting people along the way, being of service, exchanging bits of our lives, fostering deep connections with humans, plants and land. I'm very interested in hands-on experiences that are close to the earth and nature, living with the cycles of the seasons, and delving deeper into spiritual practice.
    I'm from Maryland (US) and recently lived in western Massachusetts for 7 years and then in upstate New York for 3 years. Lots of life changes have led me to being back on the road and ultimately seeking a place that feels good to put down roots (hopefully in a small intentional community).
    I spend my time hiking, reading, crafting and writing. I started rock climbing in 2019 and I'm fired up for it. I've done a lot of hiking the past few years in the Catskill Mountains of NY. I ultimately prefer to be outside for most of my days.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    I am a gardener and farmer by profession. I can help with many projects around a house and property, as I know how to use most power tools and lawn equipment. I'm an excellent organizer, cleaner, painter, etc. I've helped quite a few people organize their homes and minimize their stuff. I can also help with light computer work. I'd love to learn more about building and would enjoy being of assistance with building projects.
    I became interested in farming and gardening as a WWOOF volunteer, back in 2003. I did quite a bit of WWOOFing through 2006 in the US, Germany, the Netherlands and Italy. I worked as a professional landscaper for the past 11 years and most recently at an arboretum in the Catskill mountains of NY. I have a degree in culinary arts and can cook joyfully and efficiently for large or small groups of people.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Age

    37

  • What else ...

    My dog Yogi is 8 years old and is traveling with me. He was born with nerve issues, which only means that he walks slowly and a bit strangely at times. Otherwise, he is very low maintenance and is content finding a comfortable shady spot and staying put for the day. He gets along with all animals and humans and is deeply loved by many.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I can be slightly allergic to cats but an allergy remedy helps.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No.

Feedback