Sandra

From: Portugal

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    French Southern Territories

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/02/2020 - 29/02/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Olá, bem-vindos,
    Considero estas iniciativas sociais muito positivas e enriquecedoras para ambas as partes. The share of joy, contributing to enhance people's lives is the main objective of working as a volunteer.
    I like to travel to the mountains, sea and some cities. I normally travel with my grown up son, working well as a team. We have a short experience about workaway and it has been a good experience, so far we stayed with one lovely family. We enjoy traveling around Europe and we are Portuguese. We have joined this website, as we would like to meet new challenges, know interesting people, help others, taking care of their children, teaching, speaking different languages, gardening, cooking, farm work and housecare. We've got excellent skills in all these areas, do help others with the satisfaction of seeing the work done. We've got IT skills, can create websites, use photoshop and basic coding. The technology offers this amazing tool of connecting with people, who can join the pleasure of interaction to share skills, knowhow and professional experiences, enjoying what life has to offer. I've got the experience of had managed a small farm with a stone house, vineyard, fruit trees and olive trees, permaculture, some sheep and no electricity. Manter uma quinta envolve muita dedicação, recursos e despesa. Eu admiro o trabalho no campo e os dias que passo longe da cidade. I know very well how difficult is to mantain everything in good conditions, and what makes it possible is to have the help of the friends. By having experts helping, I've learned much about farmers' work from cattle to forest, compost, brewing, watering efficiently and many other skills. I also dedicate time for painting and writing.
    Looking forward to meeting nice people, improve local environment and contribute to enhance your projects.
    Espero poder colaborar em projectos enriquecedores e contribuir para o seu desenvolvimento.
    Até breve!
    Cheers!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching
  • What skills do you have?

    I teach maths and science, in English language at the moment, in secondary schools. My communication skills are good, being able to communicate in Portuguese, English, Spanish and French. Nunca estou parada e com crianças há sempre novas e gratificantes descobertas.
    My son is bilingual in English and Portuguese, also speaks French and plays a variety of sports, such as fencing, swimming, cycling, football, tennis and cannoing.
    I started my professional career when I was really young, having had experience in industry, coaching and education.
    I have a passion for the sea and tried bodyboard.
    Cooking is part of our daily routine when arriving home, after shopping the fresh food. Gardening is very relaxing, allowing us to learn about caring of the flowers, plants and trees, particularly when it's time to pruning and graft. We use gardening machinery confidently.We frequently upgrade reading on nature's medicine and are always looking for wild herbs. Where we live there are many birds around, some squirrels and also a cat. Restoring furniture and painting are duties which I always look how to improve by finding new techniques. We like animals, having a great time when staying in the countryside and with friends who have dogs and cats.
    I don't smoke. I do have driving licence. Conduzo desde os meus 18 anos.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Age

    49

  • What else ...

    This is a volunteer work, available to share what each one has to offer. IIt is a fantastic experience to participate in the projects and know people. I am happy with all the house and farm environment, always respecting the nature. I am not a builder or carpenter, but do apply my skills with pleasure. When need to put hands-on in my home, I've got to save money to buy the materials and get helpers to provide the tools. I am new on workaway, so do contact people for the places where I am going to spend some days. I enjoy walking, specially in the fields, and swimming. Meeting new people and children is great very comforting to have a pleasant time. In the summer, I normally stay in the beach, as the winter is too long. One of the nice things about the winter is to warm up near by the fireplace and also the olives harvest.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I prefer vegetarian food.

Feedback