Please use your browser's back button.

David

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/11/2018 - 29/02/2020


  • Description

    UPDATED November 2019
    Jen and I are now considered Canadian residents!! after being accepted through the Federal Skilled Worker scheme. We spent the full two years of our working holiday visa before returning to Europe to see family and friends whilst residency was being finalized. We will be returning to Canada in late early December 2019 and staying in Victoria for the rest of the month. Our ideal situation would be to find a long term (+1-3 month(s) on Vancouver Island somewhere although BC in general will be considered. We are very flexible with arrangements also. For example we may consider living off site in some cases and working for one day a week if this is mutually beneficial. I want to start a market garden farm in a couple years so this is the 'groundwork' for making this happen.

    We have skills and experience in bakeries + managing kitchens, running tourist businesses, soccer coaching, yoga teaching, agriculture (+ 'professional' background/experience in account management, sports analysis, banking +more. We want to start slowly planning where we want to live and getting involved at a local level is always a good way to do this. We spent most of our time in BC and would love to return there but at the same time are open to all other provinces, locations for the right opportunity.
    If any potential hosts think that they have a project or situation that would suit feel free to send me a message.
    Jen's profile is linked to this so feel free to click through and read through.
    I am a happy, outdoor, resourceful and creative individual. Over the last decade I have lived in a number of different countries Aus, NZ, Germany, UK, India and Canada + traveled to many more. Seeking to become more educated and skilled in the practices of sustainable agriculture, permaculture, organics, aquaponics, bee keeping and anything else that fits into this area. It would be great to volunteer with a host who makes their own produce such as yogurt, cheeses, fermented foods, jams, iced cream, honey, soaps etc. One day, I would like to combine all of the skills and knowledge I've learned along the way and start my own project.
    Growing up in a family of farmers I have had a decent exposure to most outdoor work activities. I left the tranquility of the land to earn a degree and work in many different sectors: cooking, baking, landscaping, agriculture work, sports analysis, soccer coaching, video games QA, banking + many different types of volunteering positions and Wwoofing on farms in NZ and Canada. This included various types of work such as weeding, tree pruning, cooking, milking, website design, fencing, basic carpentry, planting seeds, cleaning, roofing, painting, tiling, tractors, combines, chainsaws, dog walking, animal care + many more.
    I love to explore, cycle, hike, meet new people, eat and grow great food and enjoy the outdoors in general. Recently I submitted an application for Permanent Residency so hopefully I can stay and get to know this beautiful country even more.
    Look forward to hearing from you.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Laughing, playing, learning, working in social enterprises, excellent problem solving skills, thinking holistically for creative solutions, basic carpentry, gardening, (pruning, planting, weeding, transplanting, harvesting) farming (general), animal care, landscaping, smiling when everything goes wrong, use of heavy machinery (mini-excavators, skid-steers, tractors, combines etc), home renovation, painting, teaching English, building websites, generating extra revenue, business development, cooking and baking.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    32

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Profile is connected to:

Jen_ne


Photos

Feedback