For Nature lovers. Help needed at our little family with nature cottages, Palawan. Help with cooking, guests, in the jungle and garden, artist projects and more…3 weeks minimum.

Country

Philippines

Favourited 324 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    
I'm Andre. I’m living with my family in front and surrounded by the rainforest and mountains. I'm born in Germany and I left my country in 1987. I travelled to India and Sri Lanka and landed here in Palawan, Philippines. I fell in love with the nature and found the unspoiled paradise of Sabang. I live here since almost 30 years. I've lived with native tribes in the jungle and was a rice farmer for 15 years, working with buffalos every day. Finally I found an old farm in front of the rainforest with farming.

    Over the years i have built our small guesthouse with cottages and restaurant. I live here with my hard working family. We live a simple lifestyle in harmony with nature. You are welcome to join and help us with our projects. We prefer single travellers and volunteers that stay with us 3 weeks minimum. You are also very welcome, if you decide to stay longer than 3 weeks and get a part of our family. If something is not going completely well, we have a trial period of maximum a week.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    
Come and experience living in the rainforest, but also with a tropical beach just 10 minutes away. You will be joining myself, other volunteers and my small team of Filipino helpers. You can experience Filipino way of life whilst surrounded completely by the nature. I'm looking forward to meet my volunteers so they can experience the nature that Palawan has to offer.

    Two meals a day are provided for you. We have local food. If you need individual food like vegetarian or vegan, you can prepare your meals on your own.

  • Help

    Help

    
We have a large property and so many different tasks to do around our place. I need people here, who really love wild nature and are willing to help me in the rainforest. The jungle is very challenging, because it is growing very fast, so we have always something to do. It would be great to find someone, who loves cooking and wants to help us with that. Check the list, if there is something you really would like to do.

    Daily, weekly tasks to do

    Outdoor Jungle and garden help:
    - space clearing, if you want you can learn from the locals how to work with a machete
    - clearing around the fish pond
    - re-create an old rice field
    - cleaning the garden
    - building

    Helping with guests:
    - Interacting with guests
    - cooking
    - helping in the kitchen
    - Online help

    Creativity
    - Musicians and artists wanted!! From December on we plan to have bonfire every night and we sing and play music in the evenings, together chilling and relaxing with the guests.

    Projects 2018
    - making a bar out of an old Jeepney (Philipino bus). Painting and designing it.
    - full moon party with drumming music with local friends
    - craft and art shops with native materials and junks

    Any ideas you have are welcome!
    I'm very open to people who want to come and work with native materials. Or people who want to create things, design things. I'm really welcoming to creative people.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Note: I'm very flexible here at our place. You're free to choose how you want to help. If you're not so creative, but you love the nature, this is perfect also. We have a lot of land and things to do and you can help us in so many ways.

    I don't want to be commercial here. Our place is best suited to volunteers who really love the nature. We're living directly next to the rainforest. It's within meters from some of our cottages.


  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Tagalog, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will be staying in our dorm room. You will be in a shared room with the other volunteers. Separate room for male and female volunteers. We prefer single travellers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located 10 minutes walk from the commercial centre of Sabang. So it's very very quiet here. We are 100% surrounded by the nature. Though within a short walk you can be in the town of Sabang with many restaurant and of course the tropical beach.
    There's a lot of things to do here in Sabang:
    - Boat trip to the Undergound River, 1 of the 7 natural wonders of the world
    - You can climb Mt Bloomfield
    - You can trek to the Daylight Hole
    - There are waterfalls you can walk to
    - Make friends with the friendly locals living in Sabang
    - Swim and relax at the beach and explore the Secret beach
    - Mostly you can enjoy the nature around my place and the paradise of Sabang

    *️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️Getting here:
    You can take any van or Jeepney from Puerto Princess to Sabang. Or travelling from the north (El Nido or Port Barton), you can also take a van or Jeepney to Sabang. Just tell the driver to drop you off at our place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 999693484153