Organic Permaculture Garden in South of France

Country

France

Favourited 237 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    582

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    SKILLS NEED FOR ECO LODGE

    > ORGANIC GARDEN (100m2) we need help for planting & taking care every day of the organic garden

    CONSTRUCTION TBD
    > build in wooden boards: dry toilet outdoor, yoga platform, tent platform , wood gates to protect fields from wild animals, a small coral for visiting horses.
    > water irrigation system, we are looking for smart people to improve our water draining system
    > sewing with non electrical mechanical sewing machine (plaids, cushions, curtains) for outdoor sofa, outdoor rest platform

    WE PEOPLE
    We are an extended community (family + friends) living part time in Paris & part time in South of France , we are 1/2 French - 1/2 American, ages are 20 + 50 + 60. We are social people, friends will frequently walk by for lunch or stay a few days + guest renting the 3 rooms of our ECO LODGE .

    YOU PEOPLE
    Workaway volontiers, we are happy to welcome 4 to 6 helpers at the time, for a minimum of 2 weeks, maximum 2 months, from June 1st to September 15th -

    PHILOSOPHIE
    We will share with you the slow life philosophy of our project. In the highlands of Nice, close to the Col de Vence, (06140) where hides a timeless territory, a precious heaven in between mountains. You might have the feeling to be at the end of the world, but you will also find your self with big tables for lunch, and meet lots of interesting people. We believe charing good food, go back to a sens of nature, read, relax can be a powerful means for positive change.  Here you will find just total peace and simplicity, the natural silence only enhanced by birds and the breeze. We enjoy sharing meals with our friends visiting for a few days or with guest renting the 3 rooms in ECO LODGE .This property far away, will be very calm at moments and often crowded with large banquet of friends that you can share with us. Join us under a century old linden tree for gorgeous sunsets with local wines and evenings by candlelight, sharing conversations with our friends.

    YOGA
    Ramesh, our Indian Yoga master friend from Kerala, will participate giving YOGA lessons every day in July & August.
    Xristof our French / Tibetan teacher will participate organising work shops with the "5 TIBETAN" techniques in July
    Laurélie our French Landscape designer & Yoga teacher, will participate giving lessons in August

    LOCATION
    it sits in a nature reserve above Nice & Cannes. just 45 minutes drive from VENCE (06140) and 1h30 from NICE (06000) by car, at the end of a winding rocky track during 4 km, (2,5 miles) you will feel as if you've travelled back in time to a peaceful corner of the world. We are 850 meters high up in the mountains with beautiful vistas and a river 45 minutes away, walk down a steep track to the "Gorges de Loup" river.

    HOUSES
    There, an 18th century shepherd’s house looks over a large 3 acre meadow, as if on a postcard. The property is made up of several separate houses connected by common spaces with a fireplace and views. There you will find no running water or electricity although the property is in close proximity to a pylon.

    ACCOMODATION
    Helpers sleep at 2 or 3 in two large safari tents (18 m2 /200 Sqf) on wood platform at 60 cm above the ground .
    It is cool at night with a perfect temperature during the day, it gets hot, but it's still much cooler than down on the flats.

    IT IS ALSO HARD WORK FOR HELPERS
    every task is done with more effort than in a regular house. Remember we have no running water, so we go to the well with buckets , we must first heat water before washing dishes by hand, we wash ourself outdoor with buckets, empty the dry toilet jars, separate & empty trashes that go back to the city or go in compost, we must cut logs of wood in replacement of the wood we burn in the stove, water the vegetable garden, rake the fields around different unites, help clean up the rooms and public spaces kitchen, dining room, help changing bedsheets (laundry of sheets and personal belongings of helpers is done by me when I go in town at lavomatic/public washing machines). help hang the laundry outdoor to dry when i come back from town... participate to walking tours with guest of Eco lodge, plus all the many other task i forgot to list. So yes its hard work but its worth it. so fare every body has loved being here.

    CONVINIENCY
    2 dry toilets outdoor
    water from the old stone rainwater WELL at 100 meters from the main house
    outdoor shower room with cotton curtains
    1 gas cooker , 1 gas oven, 1 gas barbecue, 1 gas refrigerator
    large wood oven, where we cook our own bred once a week
    SOLAR electrical access is limited, mainly to charge cell phones and laptops.
    Cellular 3G WIFI ONLY.
    Library with French and english books
    Evening lighting with candles and oil lamps.
    Comfortable beds

    TRANSPORTS
    AIRPORT: Nice (06000)
    TRAIN: Antibes (06600) or Cagnes sur Mer (06800)
    CAR or BLABLACAR: Vence (06140)
    HELICOPTER: can be an option Latitude & Longitude given upon request (smile)

    CONCLUSION
    Welcome to this unique place where time seems suspended: candlelight, old stone walls, handcrafted well, outdoor bathing, dry toilets and yoga platform in the wonderful Provence wilderness. We can't keep all of this to ourselves, so expect the company of some very friendly flies and spiders along with wild rabbits and deer. 

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    YOGA RETREAT / COURSES.
    Our Indien friend from Kerala is giving Yoga sessions from Thursday pm to Sunday pm
    you are welcom to practice yoga with him just once a day (not all the volonteres together)

    FRIENDS / TALKS/ EXCHANGE
    friends frequently walk by for lunch or stay a few days.

    you will have the feeling to be at "the end of the world", but you will find your self with big tables for lunch, and meet lots of interesting people who speak French and English

    RESSOURCING
    you will experiment an incredible way of life such as :
    - washing with cold water in the middle of the field (but you may heat the water, if you prefer)
    - use dry toilets out doors
    - discover evenings with no electrical lights, just candles, stars and conversations until late.
    - be waken-up by sheeps who have escaped, to come to our field because grass is all ways nicer from the neighbours !
    - walk during kilometers without meeting any one, gives you a great feeling of freedom
    - admire a sky full of stars & falling stars (there is no light from the cities, which explains why its so bright)
    - Walk to next village (45 minutes)
    - Walk to the river (1 hour going 1h return)

  • Help

    Help

    ECO LODGE, where we hope to live all year round,
    for the moment we live here only during summers 4 months hosting guests & friends, we do are best to create an open community.

    HELP NEEDED FOR
    - caring for our 150 sqm ORGANIC VEGETABLE GARDEN: Watering, pruning, weeding, and clearing the vegetable garden, trees, land clearing
    - share the cooking with me, mostly with the garden's organic vegetables (creative work)

    2019 MORE PROJECTS :
    - Help for installation of solar & ecological (minuscules) systems. (smart work)
    - Conception of an ecological water system. (smart work)
    - construction & organisation of laundry shelves in a Barnes
    - constrcution of "out door shower" platform
    - sawing cushions and bedcovers with non electrical sawingmachine

    3 to 4 volunteers are hosted during summers.
    sleeping in June is in the house
    Sleeping in July , august is in tentes in which you stand up for two or three, provided with beds, matresses and personal outdoor furniture
    LUNCH MEALS prepared & taken together, good food, lots of talks, please read the reviews of last year volunteers, on Workaway site
    EVENING MEALS are mostly done and taken by volunteers them selves.

    Help with Yoga resort , prepare breakfast, lunch, help cleaning and wash dishes.

    You are welcome to practice Yoga with us Once a day for free.

    regards
    Oriane

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Francais & Anglais

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    large tents for two with real beds + furnitures in the tent provided (july and August)
    2 bedrooms in a separate living area for volunteers (june and september )

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    TIME OFF WHERE TO GO
    RIVER LE LOUP (30 /45 minutes walking down, 1 hour walking back up)
    WALKING BALLADE to different villages such as Courmes or Coursegoules. (1 hour)
    HORSES for ballade/ride at Ranche El Bronco in Col de Vence - Coursegoules (one hour walk to the ranch)
    BOOKS (many english & french books in our library)
    BALS in a village near buy, where its a lot of fun to go dance !
    I drive to the city every 2 days, never more than 3 days without the necessity to go in town, so I can give you a lift back and forth.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 heures par jour 6 j/sem.







Host ref number: 999227446377