Horse yard help in the beautiful countryside of Somerset, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 127 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on a farm in Somerset. It is basically an equestrian establishment and
    I rent out the yard to point to point trainers. I have three horses of my own also here.

    It would be lovely to find someone who can turn their hand to anything. It is not necessary to know about horses as there are lots of tasks, but obviously a knowledge of horses and a love of animals would be good. We need some help with painting, weeding, poo picking, generally anything that needs doing!

    My son, daughter in law and new grand daughter live here too in a separate little house, and also the couple who are in
    charge of the horses and training live in a separate cottage. There are also three dogs and two cats.

    We are situated in a very beautiful part of Somerset near Frome. Lots of places to visit, Bath is a wonderful city, Stourhead is a very beautiful house and gardens, the Jurassic coast not far away, and Glastonbury Tor 15 miles away.

    I need someone to help with my 3 horses, dogs and anything else that needs attention, from housework to gardening to a bit of decorating here and there. It is a very relaxed home, you will have a large attic room with your own bathroom and TV. this is a rural location so no cafe culture within walking distance, but Frome is only 4 miles away and is a very interesting and charming town.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will see a beautiful part of rural England, and learn about the running of an event yard. Somerset and Dorset are rich in historical sites, ancient hill forts , Tors, burial grounds, and fine examples of British archtectural buildings - Stourhead (2 miles away) and the lovely city of Bath 13 miles away with its Roman Baths and buildings. Sherborne is close by and this is a very pretty small town with a beautiful Abbey at its centre. they could learn how to drive a quad bike and look after the school by harrowing it and also the gallops. I am not offering a teaching experience as such, but happy to help in any way i can.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with the horses and stables.
    Dog walking.
    Housework
    Gardening
    Painting
    Farm maintenance

    All the above are general, and every day is different depending what needs doing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large bedroom and bathroom in Farmhouse. Kitchen where we can either share our mealtimes or they can use for themselves. There is lots of room for relaxing and watching TV in different rooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I mentioned earlier this is a beautiful part of the world for hiking, lots of tors to climb (Glastonbury being one). Lots of gardens and houses to visit. A safari Park on the doorstep. The town of Frome is the closest town which is a fast progressing cultural haven for foodies, especially veggies, IT people and generally creative entrepreneurial people. A fun place. The Dorset coast is not far, and the Jurassic Coast is just mind blowing and must not be missed. Lots of lovely seafood cafes and bars by the coast. Locally there are many great little pubs and restaurants. Bath is a wonderful city to visit with its Roman Baths, where you can experience the baths in all their splendour. Great shopping, cathedral, canal and again plenty
    of great places to eat..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 997244213343