Help us with animal care in our cute house in Maglizh, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a two up two down mudbrick house. There are all mod cons, microwave, washer etc and shower bathroom. It is cottagey and rustic but clean and comfortable. We also have a separate large living room across the yard. We are taming the land which is a very large garden and field and looking to build a large shed/extra room and also eventually a cordwood and glass infill build between the main house and extra separate room. We have tamed what was a total jungle and are already growing fruit and veg. We also have two rescue dogs, Rex, an older German Shepherd who is just a big softy, and Stella, a 2 year old, we think, Anatolyan Shepherd, also a daft softy. Rex can't be bothered but Stella will have a bark at passersby and the odd car. It's all show. We also have two Collie/Springer Cross pet dogs. Daisy is very loving and very sensitive and extremely clever. Her understanding is remarkable. She will sit by you all the time and stare at you lovingly. Buster is not too far behind Daisy in being bright. Buster takes Daisy's example. Daisy taught herself to open doors and listens carefully for words like dinner, walk, garden, bed, car etc. She will slope off and guilt trip you when the car keys rattle. Buster will be your shadow and follow you around loyally. He is the boss of all the dogs and keeps everyone in their place. All four dogs are very routine dogs and very much pets. Daisy is scared of lightening and thunder and the booms from the military which is quite some distance away but she doesn't like their practices. She needs to be indoors when it is going on. We have one little rescue cat, Mags, who comes and goes as she pleases and is very independent.
    The village is a twenty minute drive from Stara Zagora or Kazanlak which has everything you need in terms of shopping , cinema, etc and historical interest also. The whole region is full of history. There is Buzhludza Monument, Kazanlak Town, Thracian Tombs and beautiful mountains and lakes close by. There are two mineral spa resort hotels within less than 5 minutes drive. A day pass is about 5euros. Our village itself is a typical, very small and very rural village. It is very sleepy and ramshackle. It has a shop that is serviceable for food and bits and bobs. There is a river and lakes within walking distance. There is a bus service, it is reliable but infrequent, however our last visitors were quite happy with it. It is possible you could have use of our van or car. To be discussed.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to see a very genuine, traditional Bulgarian way of living. Rural Bulgaria is very poor but we have experienced great generosity from out neighbours. It really is a slice of post communist Bulgaria that is less apparent in the cities. You will have access to a wealth of ancient and recent historical sites to visit, Roman, Thracian, War Monuments, Monasteries and Museums. The surrounding area has some great beauty spots, mountains and lakes. We can tell you the best places to visit. Interestingly, this would be very similar to a village in Ireland 50 years ago. Because the local towns are not particularly touristy, you will experience genuine Bulgarian living, food and entertainment. During the time we are here with you, we will be happy to take you to some of the most interesting places.

  • Help

    Help

    Currently we are looking for house/animal sitters/garden maintenance for April 17th for 2 weeks, maybe more, (to be decided) whilst we are away. Feeding the animals and keeping them routine is the most important job and watering the garden is the second most important for this set of dates. If you are out all day we would like you to be around in the evening for the dogs in particular. If you are going to be out in the evening we would like you to be around for a large chunk of the day. The dogs are fed only once a day so dinner is a big deal for them. This happens at 3pm so that's the main time commitment.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Bulgarian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room with a nice comfy memory foam mattress double bed. Because I will be away for this short period, there will be plenty of food in the fridge and freezer, you can help yourself to whatever you like and fruit and veg in the garden. If we are there with you, you will have three meals per day and my wife is a good cook! If you are vegetarian she will cater for that, no problem.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I've already mentioned the above and can send you a list of places to see and how to get there and also negotiate possible use of the van or car. If/when we are here with you we are more than happy to provide transport to and from the bus stations/rail stations and local towns so as you can see all the sights.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 982536523714