Come and help restore an old farm in a remote part of the forest in Mårdaklev, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 97 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1056

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am restoring an old farm in the southwest part of Sweden. It is at the same time my home, and a statement against our present level of consumption. Sometimes I do get some rental bookings, but my farm is not a commercial business.

    The old stable is turned into a big bar and dining area, but these facilities are not open to the public. At the moment I am renovating the old chicken house into an art gallery. Another barn is being transformed into a museum and a center for Storytelling. At present there are no plans of going public with these facilities as I am most of the time living in Gothenburg. All the work on the farm has been documented in a national magazine on recycling and self sustainability. The farm itself has never, during my 11 years as owner, been used for any commercial purposes.

    As a Workawayer here you get to choose your level of "helping hours". You get your own room, and there is a few bikes and canoes if you want to explore the area. The main fields of "work" at this time of year is garden work, watering plants in the green house and keeping the part of the house that you use clean (it is normally only volunteers/travellers living in it)
    If the house is rented by guests, those guests also leave the house clean. I am not demanding any Workawayer to clean after those guests.

    Since a few years I have reduced the number of days that I spend on the farm, hence you must be prepared on some solitude. Some Workawayers only come to my farm to study, do some research, write, or just to relax between other workplaces. This is also perfectly ok.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Together with me and other visitors you can participate in any way you like. I speak english and also speak/understand some spanish and german. There is endless possibilities on doing work together or by yourself. There is a big library abd comfortable rest areas for reading or relaxing. I have a cayak and a wooden canoe if you want to explore the surrounding lakes and rivers.

  • Help

    Help

    If you feel you can tick any of the 8 boxes in this profile you are welcome! You do not need previous skills in building or any other field.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are both single rooms and double rooms in the B&B. Guests get to choose what room they feel comfortable in. In case of a larger booking during the stay it might happen that both me and the volunteer has to evacuate the house, and leave it to paying guests. In that case I arrange other accommodation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please be aware that this farm is situated in a remote part of the forest. There is a possibility to go by bus into Svenljunga, Borås and Göteborg, but it will take time and planning. :) The nearest neighbour is just across the road, but it is almost 3 km to the nearest village.
    I also need to emphasize that smoking is not allowed either in the house or on the property. Smokers often find this a problem and might want to seek other hosts.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The farm has optic fiber internet connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)


















Host ref number: 974931641875