Join our co operative, alternative project house in Leipzig, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    At our unique place coworking and childcare comes together. Founded by a mum 10 years ago, it is still run by parents. We are part of an alternative project house in western Leipzig.

    The idea is to give parents with babies or young kids the opportunity to spend a few hours a day with things they have or want to do, without being apart from their children all day. The parents are never more than a room away from their children and have time to work or doing other things they would not get done at home. Also it is a place for the families to spend time together, exchange experiences or cook meals together. And of course for the children it's great to get in contact with other kids. For it still is a non profit project, we are thankful for all the volunteers who help us making this possible!

    The main responsibility is always on side of the parents, who never leave the flat while their kids are with you. You don't have to change diapers, feed the kids or put them down for a nap. Your job will be to spend time with the children (mainly in our playroom), play or sing together and just be an attentive companion. Therefore it does not matter in which language you speak to the children.
    You will work hand in hand with the parents and normally there will also be a second volunteer at your side all of the time.

    So if you like spending time with young children an want to be part of a one of a kind project in a vibrant and diverse city – join the family and help us to remain an alternative to classic daycare!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The volunteers will be sharing the house with the volunteers from the vegan pizzeria located on the ground floor. There is about 10-12 volunteers in the house at the same time, which means there are a lot of people to meet from all over the world. The pizzeria is a very small bar/bistro/takeaway for this neighbourhood which hosts events, small concerts as well as talks about sustainable living.

  • Help

    Help

    We offer food and lodging (& Internet wifi) in exchange for a 5 hour workday (25 hours per week), week-ends and German holidays excluded. Usually we would need help from 10-12 am and from 1-4 pm.

    Our project is looking for two volunteers on a constant basis to help with a maximum of 10 children, aged between 0 and 2 years. We are looking for enthusiastic people, interested in children's development and community life.
    You ought to have some experience with children of that age. A good english speaking level is required.

    You should be willing to stay one month minimum. An ideal time to get used to the house, the project and get to know and enjoy Leipzig is three months. (But watch out, you might never want to leave again...)

    When you write us, it would be awesome if you answered the following questions:

    1) From when to when are you available?
    2) How long would you like to stay?
    3) Is it OK to send your profile to house members and other volunteers, whose stay might overlap with yours, for voting?
    4) What do you like about working with children? What is your experience?

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have three rooms for volunteers on our floor, which are partially renovated, but furnished and clean. Normally there is one person per room, but friends may share a room. In the winter, heating is carried out with Victorian-era furnaces. There is a bathroom, also in some intermediate state of renovation. There are three public WCs on other floors. There are three kitchens. The Café/Bar is used as the house's lounge/living room.

    Food is included for all volunteers. You take turns in grocery shopping for everyone and then everybody can take what they want or need. One meal of the day is cooked by one of the volunteers for everyone - this way you only have to cook around once a week instead of every day.
    The provided food is mostly vegan. If you want to eat meat for example, you will have to pay for it on your own

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You may benefit from:

    - German classes for free/donation based
    - "language nights", for free (every table has a different language, people meet, talk in different languages and form tandems)
    - a large variety of underground art exhibitions
    - many housing projects with attached cultural spaces, where they host political discussions and lectures
    - a well developed alternative subculture with a variety of musical styles
    - a few venues with open poetry or jam-sessions for musicians and poets
    - alternative projects such as a repair café, an upcycling and material collection store, a cooperative organic food store, a self-organized "institute for autodidactic learning," as well as quite a few collectively owned enterprises.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 966142969311