Looking for help on our homestead in southern Västerbottens, Sweden

  • Sweden
  • Favourited 80 times
  • Last activity: 02/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our workaway!
    We are Wesley and Manon, a young couple from the Netherlands.
    We came to sweden about 3 years ago to start living our dream of runing a self sufficient homestead.
    Our goal is to be as Self-sufficient as possible and live from the land as much as possible while still maintaining a comfortable and fun lifestyle.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer and show our guests an experince of our basic and simple life, in a trully amazing and beautiful environment. You wil have the time to explore the deep woods and beautiful lakes.
    We can teach our guests a lot of things like basic carpentry, lumbering, painting, mechanics, gardening, animal care and so many more things.

  • Help

    Help

    The help can consist out of pretty much anything depending on the time of year.
    In this upcoming summer (2023) we have alot of renovation projects on going that include carpentry and painting (we can teach you all of that)

    We strive to be as Self-sufficient as possible and provide from the land. This means we cut and process firewood, pick berries and mushrooms, fish from the lakes, gather water from the well and spend a good bit of time in the garden. (that we are also going to expend this upcoming summer)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Swedish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    we speak english, swedish and dutch. we would love to share some of our language skills to those who are interested

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can stay in our large 2 room caravan. or if you want/prefer to sleep in a tent, we have some tents you can use. Your also welcome to bring your own caravan/camper if you like.
    Its good to bring your own sleeping bag or blanket.

    -Be aware-
    Becouse we are in the begining of living off-grid we only have electricity when we turn on the generator (this may not be everyday).

    in the caravan there is 12V power so there you can charge usb devices like your phone when ever you want.

    there is no running water, all the water comes from a well, that means there is no modern shower but water can be warmed up on the stoof or taking a dip in the lake for a shower are great options ;) There will be 3 meals a day.
    We can all eat togeter, notice we are not vegetarian and meat, fish and eggs are a part of our daily meals. If you have special food needs its good to talk about that before.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    While staying at our place you have access to bicycles and a rowing boat.
    We go to the nerest town about once or twice a week for groceries shoping and you are always welcome to join.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Caravans and campervans of any size are welcome

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 958275351516

Feedback (2)


Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




A quiet place in the woods close to the beautiful archipelago on the west coast of Sweden.
Join us in our wonderful artist studio in the countryside and help with basic DIY in Bengtsfors, Sweden