Help us to finish to transform an old Stone and Earth farm into a house near Lyon, France

Country

France

Favourited 86 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/05/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    131

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are two finishing the works on this project : Nicolas 34 yo the owner who is an architect and Armel, 35 yo mason. We are friends, open-minded, easy going and really interested in History, Architecture, Travels and Discoveries about differents culture of the world.
    There is also Désy for who we are building this house, the mother of Nicolas. She comes sometimes to give us some food, to do the laundry, help with tidying up the house and cleaning...
    We enjoy listening to music, discussing, playing cards, have a beer, learning and practicing foreign languages..
    Some Professional workers and friends gonna come to help.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you could learn a lot about architecture, building (with old and natural materials), carpentry, massonery and also about travels.
    You will also discover french culture, and way of life.
    Armel is a French Teacher as a foreign language, he can also help you with french language.
    As French Cooks, we would be pleased to cook and teach French Cuisine.
    We really want to receive a lot of people from any country to learn and exchange about the world.

  • Help

    Help

    >>We would love to have a Plumber anytime.

    After 3 years of work, there is still a lot to do here, we had almost built a house and even more because rebuilding leads to more and more challenges and finishes use so much time.
    We started with big projects, removed the roof, deconstructed some walls to rebuild them stronger, built some others wall and we built a concrete chaining to support the framing and then we constructed the roof.
    Massonery, is almost over with a few little things to do such as assembling parpaing to make a wall and a hut, build a concrete pillar and then do some coatings on it ; and also try to finish a dry stones wall.
    There is also some Wood-work such as making a compost bin and tiny finishes like nailing baseboards.
    We also have a few tiling to do on a floor and walls to finish the bathroom - and then plumbery work to fill the bathroom (and kitchen) with water.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Japanese: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a caravan on the garden with 2 big beds.
    In the attic of the old house where we live, there is a huge room with 3 double matrices and a sofa.
    The is only one bathroom quite old until we make that one of the new house.
    All meals are included (just need some help to prepare)
    There is now a cat in here, sleeping on a chair : a lazy old lovely cat :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot of nice places around if you want to have a look at surroundings, such as Beaujolais vineyards 10 km far, Dombs marshes 20km far and vernacular architecture with some castles.
    Lyon is 40min far and Macon 20min far by car or the train.
    We have got boxing, climbing and body-building material if you're crazy about sports.
    There is a little artificial lake 15km far if you want to have a swim.
    On Sunday, we often go to a nice and clear river to get some cool time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We already have a caravan in the garden and enough place for some others.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 951953216661