Discover life on our off-grid family farm in the beautiful Kangaroo Valley, Australia

Country

Australia

new host  

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family (Kirsty, 41 and Andrew, 48) with one child (Jayden, 12) who live on an amazing 40 hectare property in the beautiful Kangaroo Valley. We have a tiny organic market garden which is part of our little community, a small flock of dorper sheep, a couple of beautiful cows, laying hens, and a mixed fruit orchard. We live off grid using solar energy and wood fired heating, collect our own rainwater and manage our own effluent with a healthy worm farm compost system. In the coming year we plan to establish a large worm farm which will provide fertilizer for our gardens and improve the quality of our grazing pastures. We have plans to plant a significant number of trees for shelter and drought forage as well as a small nut orchard. Other projects include setting up a brooder and orchard grazing system so that we can start to raise our own meat chickens. While Kirsty looks after the plants and animals, Andrew is setting up on-farm tourist accommodation for city dwellers who want to unplug and reconnect with family, food and nature. We're calling it a slow food holiday and this will hopefully provide the funding required to keep the rest of our lifestyle venture sustainable :o)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We consider ourselves to be a modern Australian family. We are very much connected to our land and our community and are constantly trying to find ways to improve the health and resilience of the place that we call home. We are blessed to be surrounded with wildlife including dozens of native bird species (including eagles, lyrebirds, colourful parrots, cockatoos, herons, frogmouths and kookaburras) as well as wombats, kangaroos, wallabies, echidnas and possums. We live in a particularly beautiful part of the NSW south coast with stunning walking trails and mountain views. We are just 35 minutes drive to some of the best beaches in the world and are home to amazing fresh produce and great local artisan producers.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with things like tree planting, gardening, feeding and moving animals, building and fixing farm fences, harvesting fruit and vegetables and splitting and stacking firewood. We will need help with our big projects for 2020 that include understory planting in the fruit orchard, establishing a small nut tree plantation, setting up a brooding house and grazing system for meat chickens and building a large scale worm farm. We also appreciate a small amount of help around the house cleaning and cooking, although we will take care of most of that.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guests sleep in our onsite caravan which is parked directly beside the main farmhouse. Here you have power and water and a comfortable double bed plus a bit of space for reading and relaxing and shutting out the world. The main farm house is a spacious, modern, solar passive light filled space with heated concrete floors and high ceilings. You may use the house as your home during your stay and treat the caravan just like a bedroom. Breakfast and lunch is a do-it-yourself affair using supplies provided by us. At dinner time we eat together around the dining table and meals will usually be cooked for you. We can cater for vegetarians or gluten free/nut free/dairy free types of diets, but vegans will need to prepare their own meals. Help with preparing dinner and washing up after meals is appreciated.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Afternoons and weekends are generally yours to relax and explore. There are many walking trails and hikes nearby as well as a beautiful lake and rivers for paddling and swimming. Public transport is scarce in Kangaroo Valley but we are happy to make our vehicle available (when possible) to those with a valid drivers licence and clean driving record. We can also drop you off to transport hubs or scenic destinations with prior notice. We have mountain bikes and canoes that we are happy to lend and can hook you up with local riders if horse riding is your thing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 932919738398