Enjoy a cultural exchange and help with various projects in Edinburgh, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 337 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    991

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a 50-year old teaching assistant and doctoral researcher at the University of Edinburgh business school. In my own time, I work as a marketing consultant and market researcher for commercial clients in the IT industry.

    I'm happy to live in a double-glazed (important fo Edinburgh!) three-bedroom apartment on Gordon Street, in the heart of the city's gentrifying. hipster, district; Leith.

    After four years of hosting workaway people in Edinburgh, from 2014 to 2018, I took a pause from the site. That's pushed down my responsiveness score, but please check out my reviews.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Although I have some experience of the tasks that other workawayers have enjoyed here, it's important to me that we have an exchange that is mutually beneficial and culturally useful. As well as offering help and a bedroom, I'll be delighted to share meals, stories and languages with you. I speak intermediate Dutch, French and German, took a semester of Spanish at university, and am currently working on Finnish and Norwegian.

  • Help

    Help

    I am moving at the end of the year and need help listing thing on eBay between March 27 and April 14 (with a bit of flexibility either way).

    The core help will be preparing stuff to ship, to donate or to list on eBay. I think a lot of time initially will be taken up photographing and listing surplus things, since I will have less space at the new home.

    Do get in touch if you'd like to speak to one of the volunteers who has worked with me, of if you'd like to talk with me directly. I would prefer to have one guest (or one couple, since there's a double bed) for the whole period.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The apartment has three larger bedrooms. There are modestly bright (when the Scottish sun allows it) and are furnished.

    The apartment has a full kitchen, with dishwasher, freezer, washing machine, and plenty of space for cooking. There's a bath and electric shower, a large living-room/dining room with a comfortable couch, and friendly neighbours. I provide bedding and towels.

    I prefer to have one person at a time.

    I'm a non-smoker, and smoking (tobacco or anything else) should be done elsewhere. In terms of food, my approach has been a bit simple -- I buy the food I normally eat, and you are welcome to eat it. I am open to discussions when that needs to change. My aim is to make sure there's basic vegetarian food in the house: fruit, vegetables, pulses, rice and pasta, herbs and spices, tea and coffee. There is a fridge and a separate freezer as well as some cupboard space so you are welcome to buy stuff I don't tend to buy, like bread and meat. If you'd like to cook and eat together, then that's totally up to you.

    One of the volunteers has written a useful Google document with some tips about how we can look after the flat and each other, and about Edinburgh. Send me your email address and I can share the document with you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Both supermarkets and a 24-hour food store are very close. The neighbourhood around Leith Walk has many cafes, gym, restaurants, bakeries, yoga studios, and bars within a short walk. We are around a mile from the airport tram and bus stops, with frequent bus connections on several routes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week























Host ref number: 928855757531