Learn about seasonal beekeeping and help with gardening along the Kapowai River on the Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand.

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 282 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/11/2020

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Maarten and I live along the Kapowai River on the Coromandel Peninsula on our 100 acre conservation bloc of land. We have a beekeeping business as well as a large home garden and orchard. We are also members of the Kapowai Kiwi Group protecting Kiwi and their habitat. Maarten is a pianist.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy meeting people from around the world and sharing our alternative lifestyle, self- sufficiency and living from the land. Maarten is originally from Holland and Jenny from New York. Our daughter, Vida is living with us now. She is 21. We have been hosting volunteers for over 20 years and our lives are enriched by the cultural exchange.

  • Help

    Help

    Seasonal beekeeping, gardening, orchard and track tasks as well as cooking and general chores.
    We require a minimum stay of 2 weeks and 5 hours of help a day plus help around meals. 5 days a week. Sunday is a day off.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate self-contained cabin for 2 people. Some meals are shared at our house and some meals are on your own in the cabin but, we provide you with food for these as well as the shared meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bushwalks, swimming and kayaking on the river. Many beaches and hikes nearby. Whitianga is 18km away. We are happy to give you a lift when we are going out but, it is helpful to have your own car. Limited WIFI

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day 5 days a week

Maarten and Jenny
Bees
workaway cabin

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.8)
















Host ref number: 925293287851