Self sustainable farm needs helpers in Gambia. Let's exchange skills and cultures!



Favourited 39 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    After a decade in oversea my friend returned to the Gambia to start this project with me, a 35year old Swiss man who worked on several farms and bamboo projects in south east asia.
    the farm is located in Sukuta, The Gambia, about 5km away from the beautiful Senegambia beach. The farm is based on Permaculture principles, meaning its goal is to become a sustainable self sufficient organic pilot farm with main focus on bamboo growing and harvesting for our workshop where we plan to make furniture and simple housing. Tues for fish raising. an orchard, grain and vegetable garden as well as animal raising are a part. last but not least we will build a couple of small natural buildings for ourselfes, the helpers and guests., as well as shelters for the animals.

    it is a place of exchanging knowledge of how to use free or cheap local available resources, how to restore lands fertility, water tables, preventing erosion, use all available space without disturbing plant growth through interplanting of specific plant species and that a waste product from one place is a valuable source for another on site.

    By having a pilot farm, people can inspire themselfes for adopting certain techniques or bring optimization through their input. although a lot of work will be done it should be a relaxed atmosphere with possible evening chillout on bonfires with jam sessions or long talks.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    you will learn about gambian as well as international culture including new languages and new foods. learn and exchange skills and knowledge. since we are a team of a gambian and a swiss we share our experiences of all the farms and places we worked in SEAsia, europe, usa and Gambia. here you can engage and get experience in all kind of farm work as its going to be a pilot farm of self sustainability. so every new input of helpers will be appreciated to expand our skill and knowledge pool.

  • Help


    All our works dont require that you have experience in them as long you are motivated or willed to engage and learn. of course experience would be highly appreciated in order to exchange knowledge and move on faster and efficient with certain works.

    - making adobe bricks, construct buildings from adobe bricks and bamboo
    - preparing land to transform to gardens and orchards (food forest)
    - building compost toilet
    - building small projects on the land such as walking paths, chill out places, garden furnitures, composts, black-soldier-fly house etc.
    - development of farm products i.e. moringa powder, preserved fruits, naturally processed foods etc.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    a 16m2 room with 2 floor bed available with shower and toilet right beside or you can sleep in a tent or hammock on the land.

    we will provide food from farm and shops which we cook together or get cooked by local women. vegetarians wont get hungry either. also there are plenty of small shops around.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    since the beautiful beach is just 5km away you can have a bicycle ride or sometimes we can ride by car to there. right there are also several restaurants, bars and clubs with good music, live or DJ's. Some people offer djembe classes on the beach. the monkey park forest is there too and a bird reserve is also not far. i like to play music too so always happy for a jam session.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day

Host ref number: 925144471146