Join our family in Burgundy countryside, France

  • France
  • Favourited 92 times
  • Last activity: 27 May 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are a family with 3 kids (aged 9, 12 and 13), we live in the French countryside, in Burgundy, in a beautiful setting surrounded by nature, hills and fields! We are pescatarian and we try to live in a sustainable way respecting the environment as much as we can. We have many hobbies going from gardening and medicinal plants to music, trekking, travelling, jogging, sailing and yoga (and many more!) :)

    We have moved to France from French Polynesia into a big house with 2 hectares of land that we are redesigning with a permaculture approach, encompassing a vegetable garden, an orchard, bee hives, a poultry house and some animals. Jerome works for an environmental NGO and I (Eleonora) am a free lance consultant and trainer for development aid projects. There is always a lot of work to do in the garden, in the house and with the kids, and we would be grateful to get some help!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a mixed family (Italy and France) and we love learning and exchanging about other cultures.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We look for a trustworthy person who would like to help us with our eco-project (gardening, general mainteinance, animal care (optional)) and with the kids (language classes, homework, driving them to school and activities, etc). Some help in the house (some daily cleaning and cooking dinner) would also be very appreciated, but all this will be discussed on a case by case basis, according to the profile and the wishes of the person. We propose accommodation and meals with us in exchange of 5 hours of work/day during the week (Monday to Friday). We look for someone who has a driving licence, feels comfortable with kids and pets (we have a cat and a dog), who is not afraid to work hard (gardening can be tough!), and who is respectful of the rules and who likes to take the initiative. We welcome in particular English, Italian or Spanish native speakers so that they could speak one of these languages to the kids.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We offer a private room/floor in the house. The bathroom will be shared. Meals will be taken together with the family. In the house there also a dog (Stella) and a cat (Onyx).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the countryside, but we are 15 minutes by car from 2 cities of around 20.000 inhabitants. Very close to our place there is a "green path" that goes along a canal, where it is possible to run, walk and ride a bike without crossing any car. For those who would like to learn French, free French classes for foreigners are taught twice a week in the town close to ours. The area is very nice and has very authentic old towns and romanic churches to visit. The wine disctrict is not far and offers many possibilities to visit very renowned wine cellars.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 921276168846

Feedback (3)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Looking for help for DIY activities and gardening in Chambon-sur-Voueize, France
Looking for help with our small, five-acre farm in green and beautiful rural Normandy, France