Looking for friends and helpers to rebuild my grandpa's house on Corfu, Greece



Favourited 92 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Hey there! I am Stefano from the wonderful island of Corfu, Greece!
    My property is in an idyllic setting of almost 2.000 kilometers in the village Pelekas, about 5-6 kilometers from the Ionian sea.
    Inside this setting, is my grandpas old house, an old house build in 1950's. My place is very private and quiet, have an inner enjoyment of nature, enjoys rustic living. I just started to rebuild this house and create an amazing house in the woods.

    I am a computer engineer, web developer and traveler, I work around the world and my presence will be limited, however my family will be there for you 24 ours in case you will need anything, my sister will be the main contact with you and you will speak with me for sure when I am available!
    My family, George the father, Theodora my sister, Aggeliki my other sister, Mpampis and Anthie, my niece, and Sofia and Arguris my other niece, you will just love them! They are all adorable.
    My project with my family at this moment is to rebuilt my Grandpas house like it was before the war, with most used things and handmade. My dream is to create a wonderful farm house and to be able to host friends and other people there and enjoy with them the rural life and return to our roots! If you believe that dream, come with me!
    There are so so many things I want to tell about my dreams that I could write the whole day, but I am practical man, I prefer the actions! Joy my family and if you want you can also be a part of us :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Elderly Companionship
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn more about rural living. My father, maintain his own winery, and he makes his own wine, taking care of our grapes, feeding the animals etc, while at the same time we maintain a horse riding business and you will be able to have contact with our horses when are available. Usually we put them around to feed with the green.
    You will be able to learn, how to grow and preserve your own food, beekeeping, and animal care, at the same time my father is a little bit old, so you will be able also to help him in some of his every day routine works, like gathering the tomatoes, helping with the grapes and other rural and villager works.'
    You can have some horse riding lessons also!
    Make sure to bring your sport clothes and do not be afraid to get dirt, we live in a village, near the sea, so you will have experiences like, fishing, restore all cars or bikes, building, agricultural things and other cool stuff.
    You will also experience the beauty of our mountains, our woods, while you will be able to swim just 4-5 kilometers away from my house, in one of the most cleanest Mediterranean sea (kontogialos beach).
    My father, my sisters or me (when I am available), we will be able to take you with us in the town of Corfu island (the old city) and saw you our amazing island.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    I will need some help with building staff, in general there's going to be a lot of tasks around, like building, place a new whole kitchen, restore the windows, paint, fixing the garden, create and place some pots with flowers, wood work, helping my dad in some of his everyday jobs, feeding the horses, the animals, and other interesting things!
    I am very interested for people who knows to build stuff, like building from scratch, wood work (maintain the wooden windows), in general people who would like to stay for free and provide me with their knowledge. The house will be completely yours, no one is staying right now in because I am temporarily at Spain for work.
    You will be able to stay in the house for a long period of time, I can provide you with Greek food and things that we are making we have our own garden so you will be able to help us there, eat, sleep, and going around for free in your spare time.

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    The house got one big room, about 30 square meters, a kitchen with the salon, fireplace. We will provide you extra things, fire woods if you come in the winter, (fan for the summer), even with 35 and some times 40 degrees in the summer, our place is awesome and fresh, the winter is a bit rainy and a bit cold (7-13 degrees). I will make sure you going to be warm, we can cut some woods in my property or buy some woods for the fireplace and some extra heaters.
    there is a double bed, the couch in front in the fireplace etc. If you contact me I will provide you all the photos so you will have an idea how the place is. The place is amazing and in combination with the nature, the horses and all the rural works you will love it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I don't know from where to start for the things that you can do in your spare time!
    Sometimes my sister, me or my father goes to town, which is about 10 kilometers from the home. You will be able to come with us so you don't need to use the public bus. If not, walking about 4-5 minutes there is a bus stop and you can take the bus (every 2 hours more or less) and go to the Corfu town. From there you can take another bus and explore all Corfu island! You can also take a small ship that goes to the closest island called Paxos, an amazing island very close to Corfu (check google pics "Paxos Corfu"), even that this island is a bit expensive the summer between June and August, you will be surprised how cheap is the other months and especially the winter.
    I don't really need to introduce my island, Corfu, it's an amazing island very close to Italy.. Our island, is warm in the summer and got an amazing hospitality in the winter!
    You will have internet, help from us anytime you need something.
    You will meet my amazing crazy family, my 2 sisters, my papa, my 4 wonderful niece and some of our closest friends!
    In my home, you will live alone, and you will have your privacy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 915963858119