Permaculture and Green home maintenance in Castro Valley, California, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Very green home built by Chuck and completed about 10 years ago. Janice is a senior and active with her church, loves to bake and help out in her community. The garden is an edible landscape of perennials and annuals. We are still in the process of completing some of the eco-features, like the solar panels and maintaining others, like the gray water system. Chuck works as a builder and contractor, likes to garden, forage and make music.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Chuck is a green builder, gardener and permaculture designer, with a variety of skills including electrical, plumbing, and carpentry. The house and garden here are working examples of infrastructure that produce resources. Using permaculture design, we created a greener home, with a grey water system that recycles water to the landscape for the production of edible crops, a passive solar design that takes advantage of the seasonal movement of the sun in the sky and a hydronic radiant floor system for more efficient and more comfortable heat.
    Chuck has also traveled extensively, including working in various foreign countries on farms and in bicycle shops, hitchhiking, volunteering, staying in hostels and backpacking.
    We are excited about the opportunity to host travelers in their exploration of the world and to present the small solutions we've discovered here in this modest but surprisingly productive garden in the Heart of the Bay!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Home maintenance, cleaning and gardening are areas where we often need help. Janice no longer drives and can use assistance at times with getting places as well as with household tasks.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Chuck understands basic Spanish, but doesn't speak it very well. Janice is a beginner who wants to learn.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workaway guests will usually stay in the garden bungalow, a small room in the garden with an outdoor shower and composting toilet (vegans preferred for this option). Guests will generally have access to the kitchen, dining and living spaces.

    Given our different diets and schedules, we don't eat together often. We generally have some fruits and vegetables that can be harvested as needed, or need to be harvested. Workaway guests will have a variety of foods available but may need to prepare meals and snacks for themselves, and should communicate with us about any dietary needs or preferences they may have.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Located in the East Bay near Oakland, California, we are right on a bus line and the BART station is about a mile away. Chabot Regional park is nearby with lots of great hiking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Wifi

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a cat and dog who are both over 15 years old

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 913279436796