Welcome to the countryside of North Goa, India.....and help me around the garden, house and with my dogs

Country

India

updated  

Favourited 195 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a German national, female, Grandma (not the rocking-chair-type), living with four Indian dogs (everybody says they are lovely...) as a family in a private holding in the beautiful countryside of North Goa with river- and hill view at the end of a small village, next to happy goats and cows.
    I am a fishetarian, my dogs love to eat chicken.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If living a simple life in a beautiful rural setting is what you are seeking, welcome!

    I have done volunteering in places with happy people! So I do believe that I have an idea what volunteers need to be happy.

    As I am living for more than 20 years in India, and more than 10 of it in Goa, I believe that I could help you understanding the culture and mentality of people in various Indian states.

  • Help

    Help

    All-rounders out there? I am looking for you!
    Are you passionate and dedicated, reliable and fun to be with, flexible (as I am), experienced with some of the tasks I require to be done and responsible?
    Then please don't hesitate to apply!

    I require help with my rather big garden...... watering lawn and plants with sprinklers and hose, keeping the weeds in check, planting, some levelling of holes dug by the dogs and mowing the lawn with a petrol mower.
    Your love for dogs you can show with walking, cuddling, feeding them (also cooking dog food), and maybe some nonviolent education.
    There is also work like sandpapering, painting, cooking, keeping my small cottage in order and clean, and of course your own space as well.
    If you have basic knowledge about plumbing (in case a water pipe breaks during your time here) and basic electrical stuff, this would be just great!
    I am flexible with the kind of work you are able and willing to do, but not with the timing. You would walk the dogs with me over the fields at 7 am, then - after having breakfast - a part of the daily work. At 3.30 pm watering the lawn and plants and - as you don't have to watch the sprinklers turning - some other work either in the house or garden for about 2 hours.
    This arrangement will allow ample time for you to explore the surroundings and enjoy your me time.

    Please do specify the type of work you are experienced with when applying.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own spacious room with mosquito net and verandah (the verandah you may have to share with the dogs) in the wooden house in my property. Unobstructed view over fields at the river. There is a cute outdoor bathroom a few meters away.
    Your space has all that you may possibly require.....shelf, comfortable bed, fan.....

    There will be always eatables in the cupboard and fridge.

    I do not have a broadband connection, there are incredibly inexpensive possibilities to buy a SIM card with data, I can help you with this.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My place is 14 km from the nearest beach, in the beautiful countryside of North Goa.
    There is a bus connecting every hour to the outside world. If you have an Indian or International driving licence, you could use my scooter occasionally.
    This is not a place for parties (but there are many possibilities in the touristic areas), listening to music with earphones will be appreciated.

    There are many places of touristic interest close by and in some distance, such as heritage buildings, beautiful old churches from the Portuguese time, waterfalls, spice farms and more.

    I had also volunteers in my place in Brazil, and I have been very happy with them, and they with me. If you wish, I can send you a link.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Kitchen in my cottage
Momo
Sleeping Tyson
Po, the boss!
View towards wooden house
Miss Longtail
Verandah of the wooden house
Entrance to my cottage
Inside the wooden house
3 1/2 of them











Host ref number: 894847396179