Help in spectacular Mediterranean garden near Denia, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 232 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/11/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    We are a nonprofit organization, FUNDEM, looking for some help to maintain this Mediterranean garden alive and growing!
    Located between the cities of Denia and Javea (not far from the sea!), the garden is a true oasis focused on conserving the Mediterranean fauna and flora.

    My name is Laura and I am volunteering with this organization and we are open to receive further volunteers to live here and help us. We are looking for someone that can compromise with the project for at least a month. This is very important for us!

    From August, we would need someone that can help us during mainly the mornings at the entrance little house, welcoming visitors. This job does not require a lot of physical effort but you will need to speak good English and being able to have a level of Spanish that allows you to maintain a conversation.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Hola!

    Mi nombre es Laura y os doy la bienvenida al Jardín de la Albarda, un jardín sin ánimo de lucro situado entre las poblaciones de Denia y Jávea. El jardín pertenece a FUNDEM, una fundación que trabaja por la protección de la flora y fauna autóctona y el aumento de la biodiversidad a través de la gestión responsable de terrenos.

    Yo misma soy voluntaria a tiempo parcial en el jardín y hemos decido que nos gustaría acoger a voluntarios que puedan contribuir a cuidar este espacio tan maravilloso.

    Buscamos a una persona con experiencia que pueda trabajar bajo mínima supervisión y que idealmente se pueda comprometer durante más de 1 mes.

    Actualmente necesitamos a alguién que nos ayude por las mañanas en la caseta de entrada, recibiendo las visitas durante las horas que el jardín está abierto al público. Es un trabajo fácil, poco físico pero que requiere responsabilidad y que seas capaz de hablar en inglés y español.

    Es un lugar muy relajante y tranquilo con una energía especial. Además se lleva a cabo actividades culturales como paseos meditativos, conciertos, visitas guiadas etc.

    El alojamiento de los voluntarios es una casa individual y privada con cocina y baño propios.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This place is a living school! I see it as a huge museum of mediterranean plants. If you are interested about gardening, design and art here you have many opportunities to learn about this fields. Also, you will be working with local people with many years of experience in gardening. Meeting national and international nature lovers will be easy since the garden is open daily to visitors during a few hours. Also we organize regularly cultural events at the garden itself like concerts, yoga classes, meditative walks, botanical guided tours, etc.
    When Enrique, the founder of the garden and Fundem is staying at the garden would love to chat over a meal or a drink and discuss about ideas and the projects he is leading. He loves a good conversation!

    -------------------------------------------------------------------

    Es un lugar muy relajante y tranquilo con una energía especial. Además se lleva a cabo actividades culturales regularmente como paseos meditativos, conciertos, visitas guiadas etc.
    El jardín está abierto durante unas horas al día, así que hay muchas posibilidades de conocer a gente nueva!

  • Help

    Help

    Welcoming visitors at the entrance house.

    Giving information about the garden and Fundem to visitors, keeping track of the number of visitors.
    Open and close the gates of the garden.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be having your own accommodation. A private house with your own room and kitchen area. Regarding food, the accommodation has a kitchen you can use if you prefer to prepare your own. If this is the case we will pay a daily amount to cover this need. If you prefer not to worry about this we can provide a daily menu. We are open to discuss different possibilities depending on your personal preference :)

    Casa privada con habitación privada, cocina y pequeño jardín situada cerca de la casa principal.
    En cuanto a la comida podemos acordar algo dependiendo de tus preferencias.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helpers will be able to further enjoy with the local community. There are nearby villages and beaches where you can hang out during your free time. Not far from the Garden you have a local market very nice going on during the weekends; Mercat del Riu Rau in Jesus Pobre.
    Also, the garden organizes some cultural activities that you will be able to enjoy (concerts, guided tours, meditation walks...etc)

    Laura Goen will be the person helping you with setting up in the garden and will be your contact person during the time you are with us! She is a volunteer who is in the garden regularly.

    Write to us if you have any questions or if something is not clear. We will be very happy to be in touch!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have portable wifi router.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes, we can host people that come with their own rolling homes. :)

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 893266791784