Live within the world of horses and help us with English in Farasdués, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 184 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    786

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! I live with my boyfriend in a very quiet town of Aragon called Farasdués. It is a village of 40 people located in the providencia of Saragossa, the atmosphere is always very calm and is in full nature. The main town of the area is 13 km (Ejea de los Caballeros), where you can find all services. In the village we have bar and bakery.

    We work in an equestrian center with 34 horses to 300 meters of the town and of our house, where also there are two dogs, a cat and the hens. In our house we have no animals, they are all in the center.
    We wake up at 8.00 so we can start working with our horses at 9.00 and finish working with the sun (more or less). We keep two/thre hours to eat at 13.00 and we have dinner about 20.00. We have a day off on Monday. If you have other customs, it would be a matter of talking and agreeing.

    Being honest both I and my boyfriend are very bad cooks! We usually eat foods that are easy to cook like rice dough ... We eat lots of vegetables, and salads (since they are fast and simple to make). We usually eat little meat with respect to most people, but we would not mind buying more if you liked it a lot. If you like cooking of course you can do it anytime, we would not have any problems.

    Since the largest city is 13km away, if you do not have a car we would take your trip to it (from Faradués to Ejea de los Caballeros), in case you ever wanted to buy something else or take a bus to go somewhere.

    As for our character, we are very open and quiet people. We do not have many rules in our house or many hobbies. We are both atheists (if you do not like this you should keep it in mind) and I consider that we are respectful and tolerant of all kinds of cultures. We like people coming home to do housework, we do not want you to think you're going to do it all! It is not part of the job, just a sensible collaboration since we all help and somehow we are a small community. We will try to make your stay with us as pleasant as possible.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The main benefit for the volunteer would be either linguistic or knowledge of the horse world in many of its facets. In addition the area offers many excursions and an immersion in the nature.

    We would not mind teaching to ride or to discover the world of horses to the volunteer and in exchange that the conversations are always in English.

    If the volunteer is interested in practicing Spanish there would be no problem, they could do this with my boyfriend as he has no interest in speaking English. Or even if you wanted to know some Italian I could teach you since it is my mother tongue.

    As for horses, we have dedicated ourselves exclusively to them for many years, they are our children and we live for them (it will always be obligatory to treat them well). My boyfriend years ago started with the methodology of Patt Parelli and hence our treatment of them is different from the traditional method, the horse for us is a friend and not a servant. This is the basis of philosophy with our animals. From here all this allows us to be able to teach more people how to establish a strong bond with your horse where the bond is trust and not fear. As for disciplines that we practice with the horses we do a lot of acrobatics, dressage and relatively little Amazon riding. For a person interested in the horse world would be great to be able to exchange opinions and to practice and ride my horses! And as for people who would like to learn from scratch we are sure to be in a very good place to meet and start with a good base to ride and relate to the horses!

    Speaking of the tourism that you could do in your free time you would also have a lot of excursions, like for example the Baths (Roman remains) or Pozas del Pigalo (they are natural rafts that are created in a river, people usually go in summer To bathe and given their fame are always full of people! Also in winter are beautiful to see since they are in the middle of a valley and surrounded by forest). In addition there are a lot of lovely little villages to see, the most outstanding Sos del Ray Catolico, which very recently was named a World Heritage Site. But there is also A Castle, Luesia, Ores (from here many excursions) and many more. If we already think of visiting areas by car, we have Zaragoza, Huesca (where we are already in the pre-Pyrenees, near Huesca we find the famous area of ​​Ayerbe and Mallos De Riglos) and an hour and a half we have Pamplona, ​​where we would already be In Navarre.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a person who can help us in the equestrian center so he/she needs to know how ride the horses, not with a lot of level, but it is essential to know how to jog and gallop (counter).
    Although the real need is to practice spoken English. We are looking for a person who speaks English as native language or someone from north / center of Europe who handles English well to practice (the idea is that it is not Spanish or Italian to force communication in English and not accommodate us to speak in our comfortable language). Our level of English is very basic.

    The help in the equestrian center would be more varied: cleaning blocks, moving horses, brushing, help in their training ...

    You have to know that working with horses is more tiring than babysitting or sitting in an office, which will require energy, some people already have it inside, others have them simply because they love horses, and some do not have them and usually these people get tired at work or get bored. But if you are passionate about the horses do not worry that it is not at all difficult what we usually ask!
    Something that you will have to keep in mind is that I do not want people who are afraid of horses, I will never put you in a dangerous situation, but yet there are people who do not feel safe by their side, this type of people we are not willing to accept, I hope you understand.

    To give you an example of what your work is going to be, I'm going to leave you here the list of things a girl is doing this moment:
    "First breakfast for the horses."
    - While eating, clean a block or pick up things that have been misplaced from the previous day
    -When they finish eating the horses he takes them out of the stables and takes them to the paddock
    -Moose a mare to trot and gallop, when she finishes eating, and when she finishes eating she returns to take out the paddock
    -Does the same with another horse
    -Bar the aisle of the ship

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Español, italiano

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a house that resembles a hostel. You would have a little room for you and the bathroom would be shared with us. The house is not luxury, but enough to be comfortable and relax after a day in the countryside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This area where we live is very quiet as it has not yet been explored 100% turistically, and that is why it is so attractive for tourists, as they can find a place to be able to be relaxed and surrounded by nature without being crowded .
    If you are looking for an area where you can disconnect from the big cities and spend the day enter nature and animals this is your place!
    In addition to those people who love horses, both know the world and people who have not yet dealt with them, would be a great opportunity to learn more or start from scratch with them in a different way!

    The only rule we have is to always be able to communicate with the volunteer @ to let us know your plans changes, extra things that arise, discomforts ect.
    And of course the basic rules of coexistence and common sense!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 6 days a week










Host ref number: 889994157217