Help around our old farmhouse in a small village near to Boulogne sur Gesse, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi we are are a retiredcouple who have lived in France since2009 Paul and Val
    We have an old farmhouse which is now. virtually fully restored .
    We have five dogs ranging from Maggie a Grand Griffon Vendeen to Vicki a Jack Russel the others are Silvie a setter/ spaniel cross , Wookie a Pyranean Bergerx and Alys an Australian cattle dog/griffon Korthals
    Two old ponies Gremlin and Kansas ,two Pygmy goats , a small flock of Ouessant sheep poultry and four young cats
    We have always lived rurally and like gardening and growing own vegetables
    Unfortunately various mobility problems have prevented Val from doing much of the garden and walking dogs most of this year, an operation to give her a new knee is happening at the beginning of October. Paul is unable to do a lot because of his own health issues .
    Hence looking for a bit of help until Val is on her feet again
    We live in a small village near to Boulogne sur Gesse in a beautiful situation with views on the Pyrenees .we have a heated outdoor pool which we use for as much of the year as possible
    Paul smokes only outside and is trying to stop! So please no smokers
    We both enjoy wine and spirits and good mostly local food

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Opportunity to hone English skills if needed in lovely area
    Equidistant from Tarbes/Lourdes and Toulouse and 40 mins from Auch
    Train and bus service from larger towns
    2 hrs from Mediterranean the same from the Atlantic coast
    1 hr from Spain and 40 mins from nearest ski stations so plenty of places to explore in this lovely part of France
    Riding and swimming on site
    Clay pigeon shooting available locally
    Village is small but friendly with opportunity to improve French if needed
    We also have Dutch , French and German friends so opportunity to converse in these languages
    Several good restaurants nearby
    A very friendly area

  • Help

    Help

    Help needed with dogs primarily so must be confident with them as the younger ones especially need discipline
    Help also needed with the garden and paddock ,fence maintenance especially.we also need help cutting back and pruning as well as fruit picking
    Help also needed with General maintenance of house including painting and minor repairs and finishing off where still needed!
    Val likes to cook but is somewhat limited in energy at the moment so someone who would like to cook would be a great help
    Our situation Would suit energetic practical young person
    We live very rurally with no public transport

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on when we have workaways they can either stay in self contained apartment or in a room with own shower room in the house
    Meals with the family or self catering if preferred

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport is available to local stations bicycle available if wanted

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 889292978969