Live off-grid and lead a simple lifestyle in Hawaii, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 258 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Aloha! I am a teacher, artist, linguist, former exchange student and lover of Nature (sort of a pan-animist). I lived with host families in Argentina for a year during high school, and in Japan for a year during college. I have lived, worked, and loved in Latinx communities for most of my adult life, and am particularly captivated by the rhythms, philosophies, flavors and struggles of the African diaspora. I love to dance, sing, play and listen to music, swim, cook, be with animals, and build things with my hands.

    So, what am I doing in Hawai’i?
    Well, first and foremost learning about Kanaka Maoli (Hawaiians) and doing my best to honor their land and lives and follow their lead. The Hawaiian kingdom and its descendants, as well as the true spirit of Aloha is still very much alive and provides some of the most unique, innovative, compassionate and powerful solutions to modern-day struggles I have ever come across.

    I’m completely off-grid (except for internet) and live a simple lifestyle. I love tropical, island life and the unique struggles and joys it offers, as well. I’m trying my best to utilize the many blessings, privileges, talents, skills and resources bestowed upon me in this life to become a better person, build my capacity to offer more to others, and educate myself and others to help right some of the wrongs committed by various segments of humanity.

    My paternal grandparents (a librarian and a forester) lived in Hilo in the 1970s and bought this acre of land that I fell in love with when I first saw it as a teenager and am now blessed to care for. In fact I feel it (the aina, the land) has very much changed my life and what I enjoy most is simply listening to its heartbeat so to speak.

    I was raised in the Pacific Northwest in a Quaker family of activists/advocates and still identify a lot with the values. I am passionately committed to racial, economic, social and environmental justice and strive to live in a way that supports this lifelong work.

    I am slowly building a more sustainable place to host people here, (Island-willing), and share, learn, grow and heal together as part of a larger, global community.

    I am in the process of bringing my Brazilian fiancé here to live with me. I welcome your stories and experiences with immigration and cross-cultural relationships and families!

    I play and teach capoeira (a Brazilian martial art) and am a working potter (both endeavors which I hope to build spaces for here on my land but currently practice nearby). I’m also a tutor, and am looking into building my own online business around teaching language through nature, art and music, and am happy to work with you if you’re interested.

    I substitute teach in local schools and stay quite busy as you can tell! but I love (and long for) being home with my kitty cat just listening to the waves crashing (especially at night), birds chirping and roosters crowing.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a perpetual exchange student :-) I’m fluent in English (my native language), Spanish, Japanese and Portuguese, and I love learning about other languages, as well.
    I have a Bachelors degree in Foreign Languages and a Masters in Teaching (Art and English as a second language).
    I love learning about and participating in different cultures and sharing experiences, “talking story” as they say here in Hawai’i :-)

  • Help

    Help

    Right now I’m looking for help building/preparing and tending to a few sizable vegetable gardens.

    Help moving a’a lava rocks around is also a need, building flower and garden beds, pathways, and landscaping with the lava rocks here on the land.

    There is a lot of weeding to do always around the land, as well as tending to trees, spreading dirt and mulch, that sort of thing.

    I could potentially use help with some building projects if you have knowledge and experience with construction.

    Organizing and moving materials is a need, as well.

    Help would be 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week.

    I love sharing meals, so if you like to cook it’s a definite plus!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small “ohana” 8x8ft guesthouse suitable for one, maximum two people w/small space for clothes, foldable table, double bed/futon sofa (2 people would need to be ok sleeping in same bed). No lock on door.

    Private outdoor heated shower and compost toilet is exclusive for guests.

    Towels and linens provided (sheets, blankets, pillows). No laundry on site (laundromat nearby).

    Small kitchenette w/sink (running water inside cabin), plus small butane stove, pot to heat water for tea/coffee, and drinking water (no fridge) in guesthouse.

    Fully screened, rain protected, painted, but unfinished. Battery powered lantern provided. There is no electricity to the guesthouse at this time.

    Large private outdoor area to enjoy tea/coffee, meals or just relax.

    Shared meals are offered on lanai of host’s cabin (personal preferences in regard to food and eating can be negotiated directly with host).

    Parking space for one car. Space to lock a bike if you have one (transportation is not provided by host).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Big Island is an incredibly beautiful and wild place to explore!

    The bus service is not great, but you can catch one at the activities center up the road, about a 30 minute walk.

    The beach (steep cliffs, not for swimming) is a 10 minute walk!

    Swimmable beaches are about 25 minutes away (Richardson’s, Onekahakaha, Kehena, Shipman, and others) by car.

    Maku’u farmers market is a 10 minute drive by car. Downtown Hilo is about 30 minutes by car.

    Prince Kuhio Plaza mall area in Hilo (20mins by car) has just about every amenity you could need/want.

    There is a bus that goes across to Kona side (doesn’t run on Sundays) that you can catch for a little getaway.

    Volcanoes National Park is a 40 minute drive.

    Ask me more about activities and adventures that you might be into!

    I like my privacy and autonomy and respect yours, but I am also very social and open. Just ask! :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I recently added wi-fi to my land, which is the first and only connection “on the grid”. My solar system is small and unfortunately cannot handle much electricity use at night besides lights, so at this time wi-fi is only available during the sunlight hours. The space I have prepared for volunteers is comfortable and private, and someone could easily work from their own computer during the day and set up a professional backdrop for meetings and things like that. There is only a water connection to it at this time, however, not electricity to the guest cabin. Battery powered lanterns work well for light at night. Again, charging things like a computer would have to be in the daytime hours, as well. Guests should prepare to bring a portable battery power bank (such as pocket juice) for cell phone or other charging at night and on the go.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have ample space to park a camper van or motorhome. My systems (water and electricity) are very limited, however, so I would not be able to support guests who wish to hook up their own appliances.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 885883154747