Maintenance help and company on days out in Balfour, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a fantastic area, 5min from a 105km long lake and surrounded by mountains. I have a cat and a large fenced yard and a few fruit trees which sadly I can’t take care of this year. Unfortunately my spouse is no help as he’s away most of the time and I’m recovering slowly from a head injury that happened 2,5years ago.
    I’m 53, and not back to work yet. Since a few weeks only I can drive short distances without nausea. I'm tired all day long and getting really behind in most ordinary house projects. Not mentioning maintenance projects.
    When I do have a good day, I’d like to be with someone to head to the lake for a paddle or a swim, or for going to town, the closest being Nelson, BC, Canada.
    Company would be enjoyable, especially when I’m running out of energy.
    I do have a few instruments (piano, cello, violin...) which need to be played!
    I speak French, English and a little bit of Spanish I’d be happy to improve.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I’m a former counsellor and always available to accompany one’s growth by sharing my knowledge and experience, while listening from a professional point of view.

    I’m fairly handy and a good cook, and can share my ways.

    I have a few water toys I’m happy to share if I can go too ;)

    I wish I’d go back to hiking but for now I’m not ready yet, unless you’re ready to help me in experiencing what I can endure before triggering my symptoms. Mountains are spectacular and a good part of the vibe in our community (the Kootenays, BC). I don't feel safe enough for going by myself on normal short walks. Maybe with company I would.

  • Help

    Help

    Non specialized tasks (cleaning, gardening, painting, cooking, scrubbing...)
    With my concussion I’m a bit out of balance (no ladder) and still sensitive to vibrations (no manual work or use of electric tools) and somedays I get really tired easily.

    I need help in the house : cleaning windows, floors and bathrooms. Emptying closets and discarding/organizing objects. I'm trying to offer the 1sr floor bedroom on a rental platform with not much success yet, brainstorming could help.
    I need help outside : scrubbing the bbq, go get some firewood, clean/vacuum/organize car/shed, sweeping the chimney, powerwash the fence, clean the terrasses from the dirt coming from the new neighbors construction site, ..
    I need help with yardwork : lawn mowing, flower-beds and fixing what the bear broke, planting cedars, ..
    I need help with the shed project : cleaning the bare old wood floor and applying protective coating, painting the walls.
    I need help with fun times : going for a paddle... or a bike ride in case I fall, or a hike, etc.

    A valid divers license would help for going to town for running errands or just for a leisurely walk, which I never do ...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I have a basic basis in Spanish which I understand more then I can speak. I’d like to untie the knot of shyness, which I don’t have in English although French is my first language.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two options :
    (1) individual room in main house 2nd floor and shared bathroom.
    (2) or park your van in the backyard (I'm ok if you have a pet).

    The house is oriented north-south facing a spectacular overview of the river down below and mountains. The yard is private and quiet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There’s a transit running 6/7 from my village (Balfour BC) to main town (Nelson) 25min away by car, which I can lend.
    There’s the KMC - Kootenay Mountaineering Club for hikers and climbers, fantastic mtn bike trails, 105km long Kootenay Lake and West Arm River by 4-5 min drive (camping, canoe, kayak, paddle board, water skiing , fishing, sailing, ...)
    Music instruments (cello, piano, violin, ...).
    Everybody here is pretty relax , and I’m at a different phase in life too, not running after my tail no more. Anyway I can’t with my head injury. The outdoor is a great part of the community’s lifestyle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Very strong unlimited internet access.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Huge paved parking space or large grassy space under the pines.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week



Host ref number: 877397859135