Come help us build a permaculture forest-garden and artists residence in the middle of nature south of France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 651 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1511

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    99.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    Two young guys here ! Jabber a circus artist specialized in aerial rope and Hugo, landscape architect. We moved this year to Uzés, south of France, to create an edible park melting art and nature. We have got a vast land traversed by a river and a forest running all along, whith two yurts and a small provençal country cottage, two huts working as kitchen and toilette and two caravans for hosting. In the upper part of our land there's a patch of 2ha with cherry trees arriving at the end of their lives. We also began the construction of our vegetable garden on the riverside based in phermaculture principesand composed on permanent terraced lines.

    We wish to build a gourmet garden filled with natural spaces to be inspired, free our imaginations, connect with the earth, breathe and take a look within. The creation of the park will allow to develop exchange on forest-gardening, alternative medicines, wild kitchen and art by welcoming artists and specialists on these fields.

    We are at the beginning of this project, we need motivated travelers who enjoy art, nature and sharing. We require people who have already experienced woofing, eco-farming, do-it-yourself, construction, computing or drawing to bring solid bases to the project.


    Bonjour,

    Nous sommes deux jeunes, Jabber artiste de cirque spécialisé dans la corde lisse et Hugo architecte paysagiste. Nous avons emménagé en février 2018 dans la région d'Uzès, pour créer un parc comestible alliant l’art et la nature. Actuellement le terrain se compose d’une rivière bordée par des arbres (1HA) où se trouvent deux yourtes, un mazet, deux cabanes avec la cuisine et la SDB, deux caravanes et un poulailler. Au-dessus une terrasse de 2ha que nous avons planté de nombreux fruitiers pour initier un système d’agroforesterie.
    Nous souhaitons créer un jardin traversé par une promenade gourmande et bordé d’espaces naturels pour s’inspirer, créer, libérer son imagination, connecter avec la terre et le cosmos pour pouvoir respirer et regarder profondément à l’intérieur de soi. La création du parc permettra d’approfondir la recherche sur le bois jardinée (jardin forêt). Il permettra également d’initier et former : au jardinage, aux médecines alternatives, à la cuisine sauvage, à l’art…. en recevant des intervenants. Tout en accueillant des artistes en résidence dans cet espace naturel magnifié pour leur permettre de trouver l’inspiration et de la matérialiser au travers de leurs œuvres.

    Nous sommes aux prémices du projet, nous avons besoin de personnes motivées qui aiment l’art, avec des facilités et des connaissances dans au-moins un domaine : jardinage, bricolage, construction,mécanique, informatique, dessin…

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would like to share our knowledge, and imagine together how we can improve constantly this space by sharing our experiences from our travels and cultures.
    Hugo was introduced into eco-framing during a 6 months journey meeting and woofing with people passionated by plants and gardening. He has a library with works on permaculture, trees, medicinal plants and edible wild plants that you can always consult. He also likes wood crafting, he can introduce you wood turning techniques and furniture construction.
    Jabber likes sharing, he is fascinated by music, literature, cinema, circus and arts in general. He can introduce you to aerial circus, handbalance or photography. He may also exchange language and teach spanish, french, english or italian.

    Nous aimerions partager nos connaissances, et réfléchir ensemble la conception d’un espace de vie en mettant en commun nos expériences et savoirs. Hugo s’est intéressé aux végétaux comestibles au cours d’un voyage de 6 mois à la rencontre de personnes passionnées par les plantes et leur jardin, nous avons à la maison une bibliothèque avec des ouvrages de permaculture, d’arbres, de plantes médicinales, de plantes sauvages comestibles…. que vous pourrez consulter.
    Jabber aime partager, il est passionné par la musique, la littérature, le cinéma, le cirque et l’art en général. Il pourra vous initier au cirque aérien, aux équilibres de mains, à la photographie et parler avec vous espagnol, anglais, italien, portugais...

  • Help

    Help

    Summer 2019

    This summer we need help creation video, photography or website designing. We will have circus arts stages during july and august weekends and we would love to create videos on this so we can reach more people.

    Also we need help with the video teaser for our circus show and a presentation of this proyect.

    In our planning there are several tasks where you may help along the year:
    - To sketch and imagine the project in his whole.
    - Start the communication network and to weave the links with associations involving eco-gardening and forest gardening.
    - Maintenance of the river and its banks
    - Planting and graft fruit trees
    - Creation of a pond
    - Improve the access road and the common spaces
    - Video and photography
    - Furniture construction
    - Dismantle a yurt to change isolation and cover
    - General gardening (sowing, plantations, mulching, weeding, harvest and transformation of the goods, etc.)



    Cette année nous avons une liste assez longue de chose que nous aimerions faire, si le cœur vous en dit vous pouvez nous aider dans ces tâches :

    - Jardin : Agrandir le potager (création de butte et de plate-bande), commencer à semer sous serre début février les plans, préparer le sol et semer les engrais verts dans le verger, pailler les arbres plantés, créer des rocailles, greffer des portes greffes sauvages, débroussailler le terrain, taille du bois mort dans les cerisiers, tronçonner les cerisiers coupés pour faire du bois de chauffage et des planches.....

    - Construction : Démonter les deux yourtes pour les isoler, refaire le plancher et créer des mobiliers cylindriques en bois cintré, terminer la rénovation de la cuisine, refaire la SDB, faire un poulailler, si on a le temps créer une véranda pour relier les yourtes, la cuisine et la sdb et réaliser des terrasses et du mobilier en bois pour l’extérieur…

    - Assainissement : Installer une fosse septique

    - Terrassement : Terrasser et empirer les 700m de chemin, aménager un espace de baignade le long de la rivière…

    - Mécanique : Entretien du motoculteur et du tractopelle + réparation des fuites hydrauliques

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    francais espagnol english italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For accommodation we have two caravans on the shade of trees. Kitchen and toilet are common spaces as well as the 50 m2 yurt which we use as living room and training room.
    Meal is for us a privileged moment of the day, we like taking time to cook products from our garden in spring and summer and have a nice meal all together. We usually share meal and dinner, breakfast is on you to think about.

    Nous pourrons vous loger dans les deux caravanes ou le mazet qui sont sur le terrain à l’ombre des arbres. Avec en commun la salle de bain, la cuisine et une yourte de 50 m2 qui est un espace de vie et d’entrainement.
    Les repas sont pour nous un moment privilégié de la journée, nous aimons prendre le temps de cuisiner les produits issus de notre jardin (en printemps et l'été), de la forêt et de la récupération, pour partager des moments de convivialité autour d’un bon repas. Nous préparons ensemble le repas de midi et le diner, le petit déjeuner c'est a vous de penser.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We like to think about our place as a haven of peace in the middle of the nature, you will only hear the noise of the river and song of the birds. You can also go visit charming stone villages in the surroundings, remarkably Uzès, Saint-Quentin the Pottery and Lussan who are about twenty minutes by car. Less than one hour drive you can reach cities as Avignon, Nîmes, Alès or the beautiful natural areas of South Ardèche

    As a gay couple is also interesting meeting volunteers working with LGBT associations for future artistic projets.

    Le terrain est un havre de paix au milieu de la nature, vous entendrez seulement le bruit de la rivière, le champ des oiseaux et des cigales. Vous pourrez aller visiter de charmants villages en pierre aux alentours, notamment Uzès, Saint-Quentin la Poterie, Lussan… qui sont à une vingtaine de minutes en voiture. A moins d’une heure vous pourrez vous rendre dans les régions autours d’Avignon, Nimes, Alès et l’ardèche du Sud (Vallon-Pont-D’Arc, Aiguèze…)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.0)













Host ref number: 873619283458