Come help out around our small scenic farm near Trondheim, Norway.

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 364 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 27 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five living at an idyllic small farm 1 hour from Trondheim, in the middle of Norway. We live about 20 minutes from Trondheim international airport and the smaller city of Stjørdal. We hold chickens, quails, a few milking goats, bees, and a sizeable kitchen garden, as well as some animals for slaughter during the summer months. We hunt, farm and gather what we can, striving towards some degree of self suffiency and applying permaculture principles. Our diet is meat-based, high fat and home-made. We invite you to come take part in our daily life, and perhaps learn some new skills?

    Our three kids are aged nine, seven and three. We practice attachment parenting, they all stay at home, and we homeschool our two eldest. Dad travels to Trondheim for work four days a week. We speak english fluently and speak basic german. Our kids speak some english and are eager to learn more, and it would be fun for us adults to practice some german or perhaps learn a new language?

    We prefer longer stays when possible. Currently we are looking for stays from one month up to three (or more if it works out!). But do not hesitate to contact us about a shorter or longer stay if you feel that you could be a good match!

    Currently we are looking for workawayers that can help us out in the winter months. We would especially appreciate help from somone with renovation/carpentry/building experience as we are doing some work inside of our house as well as some projects in the barn.

    Normal chores are usually helping around the house, as well as helping with the animals and plants when in season. In addtion there are seasonal task related to the time of year.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love to get to know new people, and invite you to come live with us and learn about family life of a homeschool family and small farm work. We grow what we can of our own food, and source what we can from hunting and gathering. During the course of a year we usually do most of the following: make homemade soap, sauerkraut and fermented foods, slaughter and/or butcher chickens, turkeys, ducks, quails, pigs, goats or sheep, render lard and tallow, make homemade sausages and cure and smoke meat, ham and bacon, make caviar, make a local smoked barley beer, gather mushrooms and berries and wild herbs, tap birch sap, harvest vegetables and herbs, fish for trout, hunt and process roe deer, red deer, moose and other wild game, keep bees and harvest honey, There is also a possibility to learn knitting and basic nålebinding. Many of the activities mentioned happen only at specific times of year or every other year. If you are interested you can (depending on the time of year) get to participate and learn/exchange skills in some of the mentioned activities.

    Contact us if there is something you are particulary interested in, and we'll let you know if we could do it during your stay. We are also eager to learn new skills, so give us a shout if you master an interesting skill, like for example welding, woodturning, carpentry, masonry, log or cobhouse building, blacksmithing, gardenwork, permaculture design, pressure-canning, preserving foods, meadmaking, pruning fruittrees, creative techniques, a language, an instrument, a sport, anything really :-) And if you don't master anything yet, but are eager to learn, that is fine too!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with household chores and farm chores inside and outside. We also need help looking after our animals.

    During late spring, summer and fall we also need help with the kitchen garden and vegetable field. This could include everything from planning and seeding to planting and setting and weeding and harvesting. We also generally hold more animals during the summer. Past years this has been one or more of the following: ducks, chickens, quails, turkeys or pigs. In the winter we hold less animals, and chores are mostly normal family house chores inside the house, as well as some outside chores like tending to the birds and goats, snowmowing and carrying firewood.

    Down the road we are planning on building some or all of the following: quail cages, chicken/rabbit tractor, motorised barrel chicken plucker, wheeled hog shed, indoor pig stables, high-tunnel/makeshift greenhouse, larger chicken run, root cellar and traditional fences. Some of these projects could be built during the winter, some require some basic carpentry and/or welding skills, others are more learn as you go. We also could need help with some other building/carpenter tasks. Other than the base chores we will arrange your stay and projects after your interests and skills! We ask for help up to 5 hours/day 5 days a week.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Workaway is a good way for our kids to practice their english, and in that regard we would prefer that you speak it fluently. We wouldnt mind picking up on our german, and it is fun to learn a little bit of french and perhaps russian? We are more than happy to help you learn some norwegian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will get your own bedroom. Depending on the time of the year this will be either in the same part of the house as us, sharing a bathroom and toilet, or it could be in a separate part of the building with a separate bathroom/toilet.

    You will be sharing meals with the rest of the family, and we expect you to help out as you would in a normal household in addition to the allotted 5 hours. Most meals are made without cowsmilk and wheat/gluten, as we have allergies in the family, but we will arrange for something if you have foods you can't live without :-) Our diet is meat-based, high fat and home-made. We love it and hope you will too!

    We enjoy the occasional glass of wine but don't get drunk. Our house is smoke free and we would prefer if you are too.

    We have outdoor cats. Cell-phone coverage is good in the general area, but flimsy around the farm. We have high-speed internet (100Mbit u/d).

    What you should bring if you have: Clothes that are okay to become dirty and possibly stained, and a pair of wellies/rubber boots or boots. We do have some clothes and shoes on hand, so let us know in advance with your size if there is something you need.

    For winter: winters in our area can be cold, ranging anywhere from -25 to +5 degrees celcius. You must bring enough warm clothes if you are staying with us in the winter. A warm hat, mittens, thick wool socks and warm underwear. Preferably boots that can handle wet and cold. Let us know beforehand if there is something you miss, we might have some things on hand or arrange for something.

    To let us know that you have read the whole profile before sending us a message, we would prefer that you write the the word "hamilton" at the end of your message subject.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transport in the general area is good, but poor to and from the farm itself. It is possible to catch a ride with dad who travel most weekdays to Trondheim for work (trainfare neccesary). Should you wish to go places or need anything we are happy to drive you to the train/bus station/store as long as it isn't every day :-) Trondheim is the third largest city in Norway and a historical town with many sights to see and popular with tourists. The local city of Stjørdal has most of the things you would expect and need from a small city - shops & cafés & leisure activities.

    There is a lot of beautiful nature and wildlife in the area. Close to the farm most hills and mountains are forested, but there are higher peaks above the tree-line in the area with popular hiking trails. We live about 1,5 hours from one of the best alpine skiing resorts north of the alps, in Åre, Sweden. There are also other skiing resorts closer by. There are several good outdoor climbing crags as well as several indoor climbing centeres in the area. We are shielded from light-pollution where we live, so you get a good wiew of the night sky. If you stay with us during the winter there's a chance of getting to see the northern light, we usually get to see it a few times during the winter.

    We are a outdoorsy family and have plentiful camping gear, so that you can tag along if you want. We also have a small log cabin with a cozy fireplace by a beautiful lake 15 minutes from the farm, with canoe and boat. If you want to try nordic skiing, snowshoeing or icefishing you should have a good oportunity. In the summer you can fish for trout with rod and reel, fishing nets or "otter-line" (don't worry we'll teach you). We often take our workawayers to see sights and activities of interest in the area, and generally it is a goal of ours that the workawayer becomes a part of our family.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fairly good internet connection and a separate office with an extra monitor, office chair, desk etc. Mention this in your message if this applies to you.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have room for a campervan in the summer season and a separate bathroom and kitchen.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 866965162492