Help on a future forest and garden in the making in Grand Forks, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 0 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/05/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am living in a rural farm area just east of Grand Forks B. C. on 5 acres of old horse farm.
    About half hour bike ride to Grand Forks and 1 block to the Kettle River for swimming or tubing in the beautiful summers.
    I have been here just over 1 year and am looking for gardening help as I transition the old hay fields , lawns , horse corrals into a food forest. I got a good start last summer planting fruit trees and started a lot of fruit and nut trees this last winter that are waiting to be planted out. So lots of digging and mulching.
    I am new to this area, retired from work and an artist in acrylic painting and rough woodworking ( twig furniture and recycling of old wood)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Hopefully you can learn something about transforming lawn and field into garden. I try to make use of the most physically economical methods possible as mulching , back to eden type garden , but sometimes you just need to dig. I have scythe, Sickles, push mowers and hand tools here for working with.
    As far as food this is a plant based eating household so if you are already plant based or interested in learning to cook plant based meals I have about 10 years experience.
    I have taught painting and twig furniture building workshops in the past and willing to share that knowledge with you.
    I attend church service on Sundays and you are welcome to join me there.

  • Help

    Help

    I will be expecting 4 hours of help per day Monday to Friday, lots of digging, raking, weeding, wheel barrowing of sawdust mulch. Mornings are the time to help outside in the summer. In rainy weather you can help with some inside insulating projects and recycling old barn wood projects I have on going. Take weekends off to explore. Experience in permaculture type gardening would be appreciated but not necessary. Willingness to work hard and independently would be good.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I provide 1 bedroom with a double bed, bedding and towels. Shared kitchen and bathroom. I will cook one plant based main meal around 6pm. Breakfast and lunch are your responsibility for cooking.
    My place is 6 km from shopping in Grand Forks. That's under a half hour pretty much flat bike ride along quiet roads or the trans canada rail trail. I do most of my shopping by bike.
    There is no local bus service to my place but there is some service to GrandForks from Vancouver, Kelowna or Nelson

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are nice low grade bike routes from here to Christina Lake 19km, and a route up the North fork Valley,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have room to park a van or camper but no sewer hookup.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day Monday to friday


Host ref number: 856774822385