Join us on our small sustainable farm in the north of Örebro, Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living on a small organic farm 20 km north of Örebro. We, that is Katharina (37), Erik (37) and our kids (7 and 9). On our farm we grow many different vegetables, berries and fruits by using organic and permaculture principles. Our farm is quite small and all food we grow and produce is consumed by us and friends. We have two cats, chickens and honey bees. We try to live as sustainable as possible, not using more resources from earth than needed. We believe that locally produced food is a good way to live more sustainable and contribute to our local ecosystem. We adults both work part-time within IT in the public sector. Instead of working full-time we spend time taking care of our animals and vegetable garden, which provides food, joy and time for meeting other people. We do not earn money by doing this, but spend less than we would otherwise and meanwhile having a more fulfilling life.
    Welcome to join us at our beautiful place!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to share our knowledge with you, for example: sustainable living, growing food, beekeeping, chickens, brewing kombucha, baking sourdough bread. We also practice yoga and enjoy board game nights with friends.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who is experienced in some of the areas listed below and able to work self-driven and take responsibility. You will sometimes be doing tasks on your own (or together if you are two persons) or together with one or two of us depending on what needs to be done and when.
    You will often have the possibility to choose from different tasks and decide at what time of the day you want to work. However certain tasks require planning, preparations and working at specific times or weather conditions.

    In 2022 we would really appreciate if you have building/construction experience and can assist us with our building projects, see more information below.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    **Update regarding housesitting in april: we have a candidate. If you want to you are still welcome to apply as "back up" in case something in the planned agreement changes.**
    In the beginning of april 2022 we are looking for a house sitter while we are travelling for ca 9 days. While we are travelling you will stay in the main house. Main tasks are taking care of our two cats and our chickens. Also taking care of plants (different plants we grow indoors under growing lights while it is still to cold in our greenhouses for example tomatoes, cucumber, chili). Taking care of what is needed at that time in the vegetable garden, checking our mailbox etc.
    It is prefereable that you have previous experience of taking care of plants, chickens and cats and as we are trusting you with taking care of basically all we own we would like you to have previous feedback from other hosts for the house sitting opportunity. Please also tell us about your knowledge in these areas :)
    We would like you to spend some time at our place before we travel to introduce you to everything, arriving last week in march for example would probably be good.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    From april to september we need help in different areas (what needs to be done depends on time of the year), for example:
    - gardening (preparing beds, weeding, planting, watering, taking care of fruit trees, digging)
    - harvesting & preserving food
    - taking care of the chickens (cleaning the hen house, refilling food and water, fencing).
    - carrying and stacking firewood
    - beekeeping. If you have knowledge in beekeeping you can help us with the bees or if you lack knowledge but are interested, you can learn about beekeeping by assisting at the hives and also harvesting honey. We provide protective gear.
    - chopping fire wood, tree felling
    - We’d like to make a pond to increase biodiversity and as a water reservoir to increase our resilience. Digging and moving stones will be involved.
    - Cooking. We eat lacto-ovo vegetarian food.

    - Building projects:
    1.We have an old building that we want to transform to a conservatory/greenhouse and need help with that, first issue is the house foundation that needs some love. Someone with experience in wood construction as well as working with mortar, nature stones etc would really be appreciated.
    We need to replace the roof, build new walls, fix windows etc.

    2. Building a porch and stairs for the tiny house.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We'd love to meet german speakers as our kids need to practice their german (Katharina has German roots). We are happy to help you practice swedish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in a tiny house that is 10m2. It is suitable for two people who are comfortable with living together in a small place.
    There is a living area with two beds, chairs, table and some storage and a small but well equipped kitchen area with a fridge, sink, two cooking plates, toaster, kettle.
    There is electricity and internet connection in the tiny house, but no running water or sewer. You can get fresh water in our house at any time to refill the water tank in the tiny house. The used water goes into a tank that needs to be emptied regularly. There is a small urine separating composting toilet in the tiny house, mostly for night time use (you will have to empty it daily). There is another urine separating compost toilet in a building nearby (that does not require daily emptying).
    Note that there is no shower in the tiny house.
    You are welcome to use the shower and washing machine in our house but not during night time and because we have our own well, we all need to be conservative with our water consumption (that is, no extensive showers).

    Normally you will arrange your own breakfast. We usually have dinner together on the working days (or maybe all days, depends on what we all are up to). Lunch will vary, sometimes we might eat lunch together, sometimes you will arrange lunch on your own. We supply the groceries for all meals at our place and depending on season there will be different homegrown vegetables to enjoy, as well as eggs from our chickens and plenty of honey.

    We are vegetarians.

    It is possible to go to stores by bus (20 min walk + 15 minutes by bus one way) if you want to buy snacks or anything else.

    We don't accept excessive alcohol consumption, although moderate consumption is acceptable. We are non-smokers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time usually flies in our lives and every day life with the kids, our jobs and taking care of the farm can be demanding. We enjoy meeting new people, having nice conversations and playing board games and are happy to invite you to our life but often we adults are quite tired in the evenings and we need to spend some family time on our own. So you need to be able to spend your free time on your own as well.
    There is plenty to do and see. We live in the countryside, the closest neighbours are a few hundred meters away. It is close to the forrest and nice walking areas. Beautiful view over Kilsbergen, a mountain range a few kilometers from us, with forrest, hiking (Bergslagsleden) and mountain bike trails, national park areas. A nice river suitable for swimming is close by. There are lots of animals you might spot here: birds (and even cranes), deers, foxes, elks.

    There are two bus stops within walking distance from our place (1 km/1.8km). From there you can easily get to the biggest city nearby - the regional capital Örebro, but also other nice places to see, i.e Nora and Lindesberg. From Örebro there are good connections by bus and train to Stockholm (2 hours by train), Gothenburg (3 hours) and Oslo (five hours).
    In Örebro there are restaurants, cinemas, museums, pharmacies, hospital, university, libraries, a castle, shops etc.

    Please send us some information about yourself, your experiences and skills, if you have tried volunteering earlier, if you are used to kids, your cooking skills, why you want to come here, what you like to do in your spare time and anything else you think we should know about you.

    We are looking forward to hear from you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Tell us more about what you need and want, it might work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 849336913963