Come and enjoy beautiful rural Vermont and help restore an historic farm.

Country

United States

Favourited 171 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    201

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm is located in beautiful rural Vermont. The farm is over 200 years old but has not been actively farmed for decades. We have finished renovating the farm house and are almost done with restoring the machinery pole barn and the main dairy barn. We hope to use the main barn for hosting weddings, and maybe open a small pub. There are 100 acres (40 hectares) of forest and fields, with a small river, and a stream flowing out of a beaver pond.

    The farm is beautiful and perfect for sunsets and stargazing. Nearby are 26,000 acres (10,500 hectares) of state parks with lakes and trails for hiking, biking, camping, fishing, swimming and kayaking. There is a small store/restaurant one mile away and more civilization within 25 minutes (we have a truck available for local use).
    Some of the projects for this year are finishing the barns (some painting and carpentry), mowing a lot of grass and fields, clearing trails in the woods and chipping brush are a priority this summer. We have three tractors (two small ones for cutting grass and one big one for other things), an excavator, a small dump truck, and a 4-wheel drive utility vehicle for the woods. All of these have been used by volunteers in the past even though some had never driven any kind of a vehicle. If you know how to use a chain saw for cutting trees or drive a tractor already that is a big plus!

    My wife is a teacher and has the summers off. I work from home as an engineer and split my time between that and working on the land. We often have visitors who come to play or drive a tractor.

    During play time, we have kayaks and bicycles and trails to hike. A favorite adventure of previous volunteers has been floating down the river in tire tubes on a hot day. Drinking beer around a fire is also quite popular.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Many travelers to the United States think the country is defined by its cities, but there is so much more to see and experience. Vermont is rural and very beautiful, and the people are open and friendly. Come spend time outside playing in nature, practice your English, or just make friends.

  • Help

    Help

    We have more projects than time and would love to trade some of your help for a fun experience.

    This years projects include some painting of the house and/or barn, clearing brush, trees, and trails, mowing grass and pastures, barn cleaning and repairs, repairing/rebuilding two small bridges, vegetable gardening and many other things. There are also plenty of rocks and stumps that need to come out of the ground. Maybe you could learn to use our excavator?

    We do this for fun, and hopefully you would have fun too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, and some German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers stay in a spare bedroom in the house or in the bunk house (which is upstairs in the pole barn). The bunkhouse has separate sleeping areas and a common space with WiFi, refrigerator, microwave and music (but no plumbing). It is a great space with a great view! If you visit early or late in the year and it is cold, there are spare bedrooms in the house. There are two shared bathrooms in the house, as well as a kitchen and washing machine and drier that you can use. Meals are generally shared and volunteers are encouraged to cook.

    Smokers are welcome, but there is no smoking in any of the buildings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is plenty to do in your time off.

    The land is absolutely beautiful so bring your camera. The river is great for fishing or swimming. There are many beautiful spots waiting to be explored that are perfect for just relaxing, photographing, or just sitting and reading a book (there is a library just down the road).

    Nearby are all sorts of outdoor activities like hiking, running, biking, swimming, kayaking, camping, etc. Close by (25-30 minutes) are towns with stores, restaurants, a few bars, movies, etc. We have an extra vehicle (a dump truck!) available for local travel.

    Not too close by but reachable by bus are the cities of Burlington VT, Boston MA, New York, and Montreal QC, if you need some city time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 3-5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)











Host ref number: 836287539834