Help with horses and explore Rundale, Latvia

Country

Latvia

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is Laima, I run my pottery studio from this rural farm in Rundale. I am the guardian of a herd of 5 horses next to my home. I offer you to experience life in the countryside, help with handling and training of the horses. You should already have experience with horses to apply, but I can teach you more about using Positive reinforcement, Intrinsic Motivation and Autonomy based movement science. The horses are mainly self-sufficient with large pastures, water and free-entry shelters available 24/7, but there are still plenty of things to help around, for example taking the horses out for walks. I invite you to open your eyes to different way of being with these magnificent beings not just riding and using them for our own purposes.

    Help in the garden or renovation/construction also possible- let me know your skill-set and we can discuss the options of your involvement.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers can learn through training sessions, and by handling the horses in the general day-today routines. All our horses are safe and well socialised already, joy to be around and very eager to participate in all training sessions. You may take on one of the horses to work on particular goals or practice with them all.
    Horses are trained with R+ (positive reinforcement).


    I CAN teach you:

    - clicker training for horses for behaviours like - standing still for vet procedures (eg injections, eye treatment, injury treatment), following in liberty, saddling, introducing scary objects like plastic tarp, umbrella, ball etc etc

    - For agility training my horses

    - For relaxation and groundwork


    I CANNO'T teach you:

    - Riding (we ride very little, and neither me or my horses have such experience to teach complete beginners to ride). If you are a very experienced rider we may discuss you joining for a trail ride together with me.

    - Pressure/dominance based training

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers can help with the usual day-to-day chores in this little horse paddock-paradise such as poo-picking from the free entry shelter and arena (about 30min per day), grooming, hoof care, taking 1 or 2 horses for a walk or cycle around the area, fence maintenance and such. Depending in the seasons the training sessions usually happen in the mornings or evenings. In the late evening we prepare supplements and delicious snacks for the horses.

    There is help needed in the orchard and my little organic garden too :) (May - September).

    I'm also renovating my house so if you have experience with construction work we can discuss the possibility of longer hours and getting involved there too.

    As it takes long time to teach about horses MINIMUM time offered is 1 Month.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared semi-private loft in newly renovated 140 building. Loft is a large open space, where usually my 1 or 2 pottery apparentices stay for their 6 month internship. There is kitchen for making your own meals, shower and sauna in the adjoining building next to the loft.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I can send you the Internship description and itinerary after you apply ;)

    Food is not included in the offer, there is kitchen for making your own meals. I can take you to the closest town Bauska to the market/shop once a week. There is plenty of produce from the garden in the summer months too.

    There is public transport bus stop 2.8km from the farm with good further connections throughout the country.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    free wifi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

My home
Horses have 6ha grazing pastures
Small part of the garden (in raised beds)
Open space loft accommodation
Open space loft accommodation
Host ref number: 825269531382