Welcome to Marocco! Come and help us at our hostel in Agdz and join our daily family life!

Country

Morocco

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 22 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my name is Abdellah. With my wife Hanan and our three children we live at about 2.5 km out of Agdz on the road to Zagora. Together with my family and the help of my niece Fatima we run a hostel. The building was lived by the nomads by the end of the 16th century and has been lovingly restored. On the other side of the calm road, not far from our hostel, is our garden. There are date palms, apricot and olive trees, as well as patches, where we plant herbs and vegetables. The garden is worked after the principles of permaculture.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You are welcome to live with me and my lovely family and share everyday life with us. You'll be having the pleasure to taste the marvellous dishes prepared by my wife and niece (Tajine, Couscous, Crêpes). If you are interested, I can show you about the ways of permaculture or tell you a lot about the region - the magnificient Valley of Draa - because I am also working as a tourist guide for hiking tours. And if you are curious to learn some Berber, I'd love to teach you some basics, because I am of Berber origin.

  • Help

    Help

    Our hostel, as well as our garden are in a state of consistent improvement, so there are many opportunities for you as a workawayer to give us a hand. We could need people experiencend in the field of construction, such as e.g. bricklayers, since we are about to rise another building right next behind the hostel. For the garden we would need people who are interested in the ways of permaculture, help us to maintain the beds and repair/evolve the irrigation system. Furthermore there is always help needed in the hostel.

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Fluent
    Berber: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in one of the rooms of the hostel, which can be locked. The shared bathroom, which you can use, is just next to your room in the "patio". Usually we prepare three meals a day for ourselves and would like to share them with you. There will be breakfast in the morning, lunch at around noon (often Couscous or Tajine) and a rather light dinner in the evening, such as Berber Omelette. It might be important to know that, because we run a hostel, we provide some products for our guests, which we do not consume ourselves and therefore can't provide for you. This concerns mineral water, orange juice and milk.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 823817496412