Help with a straw bale house near Copenhagen, Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Martin and Sarah: the monkies of the house - and Wendy and Squirrel: the lovely doggies taking care of the monkies.

    We have hosted quite a lot on other hosting traveller sites, but we thought it would be lovely to have people staying for longer, especially people interested in natural building and are happy to help us to build our 2nd straw bale building.

    Martin got the idea to build a natural building several years ago, starting with no experience but a lot of energy, and here we are now starting a 2nd building to house a bathroom and bedroom/workshop.

    Martin is Danish and Sarah is English, and we speak English together. Sometimes friends join to help and have a good time with us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Straw bale building is easy, and this is a great opportunity to develop skills in natural building whilst exploring Copenhagen.

    Straw bale houses are ideal. Easy and cheap to build while putting minimum pressure on the environment. It is also a venture into debt free living and really getting close to natures own building blocks: Straw, clay, sand, gravel, timber and lime.

    Also many travellers are interested in Scandinavian living and not least 'hygge', which we guarantee with plenty of coffee, cakes, red wine, barbecues.... and of course the obligatory candlelight!

  • Help

    Help

    Currently we have one strawbale building which Martin built 2017/2018 with help from a few volunteers.

    The project for this summer is to build a second, smaller building - this time a timber framed rather than 'Nebraska' style (dont know what that is? Come learn with us!).

    We have constructed the plinth foundation and are finishing the timber frame. Next is to infill it with straw and then spend many happy moments 'mud dancing' to make the cob to plaster the walls with

    Particularly helpful would be eco building experience, but we value energy and fun above all others! We try to mainly use recycled materials and so sometimes have to adapt and develop our plans to fit with what we have available.

    Once the building has been completed we are going to repurpose the many windows that we have collected and make a conservatory (Danes call it a Winter Garden) which will link the two buildings, and make the most of the winter sun.

    There is also an opportunity of walking our two lovely dogs and helping with the cooking, but the main job is an extra pair of hands for both fun and dirty work (although another pair of hands in the washing up bowl after dinner would also make us very happy!)

    We do not demand more of you than you want or can do, but we hope that you come with a curious and yes-we-can attitude.

    We would like to work with you five days a week. We anticipate starting work at around 10am.

    We would prefer it if you had suitable workshoes, or at least a strong commitment to be very careful of your toes! We have plenty of workgloves.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Danish, English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    What will eventually be a little oasis of green, permaculture-based living in the suburbs of Copenhagen is at the moment a building site.

    The amenities are basic so volunteers should definitely be the adventruous types!

    There is currently no electricity as our solar panels are yet to be installed. When they are in place there will be electricity available to charge phones. There is no refrigerator - it works for us as we are mostly vegetarian, and a lot of the time eat vegan, but it might make a big difference to you so its best to be warned!

    Volunteers will stay in the caravan alongside the current building. It is really suited to one person - if you are two, you will need to be very cosy, and not that tall!

    The caravan is not much more than a sleeping and chilling place. It is unheated but there are plenty of blankets, and lots of candles to light you to bed. If the summer suddenly turns into winter we have a gas fire that you can use, although we pray for good weather both for work & for play... we love hanging out over dinner, chatting & drinking red wine!

    The is a temporary compost toilet in the garden, while we are building the new structure which will house a toilet and second shower.

    The current strawbale building is one room, cosy but complete, and you are very welcome to share it with us during the day. There is a kitchen with gas cooking rings, rocket stove, a day bed for relaxing... and bathtub/shower in one corner! We sleep on the mezzanine above.

    We are mostly vegetarian. We will provide a simple breakfast everyday, and lunch, snacks and dinner on work days (ie 5 days out of 7 days). By the time you join us we may have sorted out a gas hob for the caravan, until then you'll have to wait for your morning tea/coffee until we are up in the morning.

    Do you like dogs? Its probably a good idea if you do, and our two dogs are very friendly, and are always up for a cuddle.
    Sometimes we may need a bit of privacy, and we will certainly respect your needs for company and for privacy as well.

    We really hope that we have included everything you need to know to feel confident that you will feel comfortable staying with us. If you have any worries or concerns whilst you are here please, please feel able to tell us - Workaway is supposed to be fun! :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 15 minutes walking from a train station from which you can get a direct train into central Copenhagen. It takes about 15mins and a single journey with a travel card it is approx €2. Altenatively you can cycle in, all on designated cycle paths (naturally, this is Copenhagen - the cycle capital of the world!) which takes about 35mins.

    Copenhagen speaks for itself. It's full of history and culture, bars and museums. You will not starve when it comes to going out and about.

    You can even go hunting for the Six Forgotten Giants, huge wooden sculptures created by local artist from recycled wood and hidden in the forests which ring part of Copenhagen and are 5 mins walk from the house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 793235289444