Help out around an organic coffee farm, in the Intag Valley, Ecuador.

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 469 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    42  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    914

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The coffee season is about to start, volunteers needed for April 20-July . You need to have basic Spanish. This is an organic coffee farm, in the Intag Valley, Ecuador. The temperature is warm but not hot as we are in a mountain valley of 1500 meters. There is a vegetable garden and 4,000 coffee plants. The main coffee picking is May-July but there is work year round.
    We are on a main road with bus service, short distance to the Nangulvi Hot Springs, Wariman Archelogical site, rafting and biking. We have built and sponsor a distance education school for young adults. You will work there on Thursday.
    Work consists of weeding, picking, cultivating, watering
    Coffee and the gardens. Cleaning and feeding the pigs. Helping with the kitchen in the school, construction of small houses for local people.
    Because of a recent problem there will be no drinking or smoking on the farm.
    There is internet at the house, we have a phone. I live on the farm and lodging is either in my house or in the volunteer house if not occupied. You will need sleeping bags, towels, pillow, work gloves, rubber boots (can be purchased for $10 at the local store) Food is supplied for 5 days a week, vegetable garden available. You will be expected to work a maximum of 6 hours a day and cook some of your own food and wash your own clothes supplying your own soap we have a machine !! and you will need toilet paper and towels and a flashlight.
    I speak English and I am from Canada, but also speak Spanish.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cut bamboo, build fences, weed gardens, pick coffee, feeding pigs, chickens, join in community gatherings.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a coffee and pig farm. You will pick and weed coffee, sort coffee. Clean and feed pigs (rubber boots). You are welcome to stay 7 days a week but would be expected to help with daily chores on your days off if you are staying at the farm, but meals are not provided, only 5 days a week, but you are welcome to cook your own food on days off. . Otavalo is 2 hours by bus, and is a great party town if you like a weekend break from the farm. Internet 7-9 at night.

    The distance education school needs help on Thursday with cooking and washing dishes.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bed in volunteer house or cabana, shower, warm water !! . Use sleeping bags or wash the sheets?? 2 meals a day, breakfast and lunch meal, super is your responsibility with shared cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    1 km from the Nangulvi Hot Springs. $3 WAriman Archelogical just up the mountain. zip lining, Horseback riding $15 a day, rafting, hiking . This is a quiet farm, with three dogs, 3 cats, neighbours are friendly and close by. Most days you will work with a local person, good time to practice Spanish.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours 5 days a week sometimes more, sometimes less

Wall art drawn by a volunteer, Tamara and help to paint by volunteer Maria.
Building a fence to keep the chicken in or out, depending.
The other farm
Mules bringing produce down from the mountains,
New litter of baby pigs, next due March 18
Riding horses to the mountain school
Gazebo for afternoon relaxing.
This is a picture of the farm taken from the Wariman zip line






















Host ref number: 788135475973