Help a young couple living on a farm in North Yorkshire, UK


United Kingdom


Favourited 89 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 37 days

  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    Nestled in between the Yorkshire Dales and North Yorkshire Moors, we are in need of some help at our farm/farmhouse on a working farm in North Yorkshire.

    We live on a 350 acre farm in close proximity to endless tourist hot spots and only 2.5 hours on the train to London offering great sightseeing options.

    Here at the farm we can offer comfortable accommodation, food and company from us and our cocker spaniel called Crumpet.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live on a traditional British cattle and sheep farm so can offer a true farm-life experience in a beautiful area of Yorkshire. We can show you how a farm runs and give you an idea of traditional English country living.

    We lived in London for 8 years and then moved to rural life two years ago. We have both enjoyed travelling the world, taking part in a number of challenges and adventure races and above all enjoy meeting people and exploring the beautiful areas close to our home in Yorkshire.

    We are in close proximity to some beautiful areas to visit in the Yorkshire Dales, North Yorkshire Moors, North Yorkshire coast and several fantastic cities (Leeds, York, Newcastle, Edinburgh and London which is just 2.5 hours direct from our nearest train station).

  • Help


    We will soon be getting a small number of chickens on the farm. We have an old pheasant pen which they are going to live in. However before we put the chickens in the pen, we need to make it fox proof and therefore some help doing this would be appreciated.

    We also have some wild flowers to plant alongside one bank of a pond. Young trees have also been planted around the pond and weeds growing up around them need spraying off.

    There is also some painting on the external of the house that needs doing .

    We have a wood that needs tidying up so our son can have fun playing in it in years to come.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Double bedroom with your own bathroom.
    Large farmhouse kitchen - we are happy to cook for you in return for your help.
    Two sitting rooms so you can either have your own space or enjoy some company.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus at the end of the drive to the local town (Northallerton) which has rail links to London, Leeds, York and Newcastle so getting about on your own is more than achievable.
    We are happy to drop you off at places as and when we can.
    There are lots of great English country pubs around our area offering great food and a traditional country pub experience!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 787444513665