Come and help with property maintenance and hospitality in the beautiful North Norfolk countryside, England


United Kingdom


Favourited 351 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 32 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We are a large, Country House and party venue in the beautiful North Norfolk countryside. We have an extensive vegetable garden and grounds, as well as a small flock of sheep and some ducks.

    We are a private house and the live-in, managing-couple look after our home team who share regular breaks and meals together. North Norfolk is a beautiful rural area, with lots of walking, bird watching and things to see. Our location is reasonably remote, midway between Fakenham (an old, market town) and Holt - both 10 minutes away by car. SUITING WORKAWAYS WHO HAVE A RECOGNISED EUROPEAN DRIVING LICENCE AND ARE 21 OR OVER !!!

    Those over 21 years of age will have access to a car, a Full driving license is essential. You will be responsible to pay your own fuel as used. Bicycles are also available.

    This is a paid position according to the spec. We offer £100 pw on top of your accommodation and food.

    We will be looking for Work away's who are happy to commit to 6-8 weeks minimum working in the Hall helping with catering,(food prep, washing up, waiting on). Housekeeping (Changing beds, hoovering, dusting, cleaning bathrooms, windows etc) Some animal husbandry looking after our sheep, ducks and cats. Or more over the Lambing season in spring from March - May NB (we will not be Lambing this coming spring 2020). Through late Autumn/Winter we will be looking for help to paint both indoors and out, on windows and doors and some help with general property maintenance. As and when the weather dictates.

    (There will be lots of picking to be done in the Kitchen garden and assistance to help pod/shell and prepare the produce for jamming, freezing etc.This is mostly from June through to October)

    Being prepared to work as an all rounder is what it takes to form part of the daily team. We have staff from many walks of life and skills to be passed on and shared. You will have many opportunities to practising your English language skills if this is what you are looking to improve, Working alongside and taking breaks with our home team will form part of your working day.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We want our workaways to feel at home with us and become part of the team. You will have the opportunity to practise English, experience English culture and get a taste of English country life. We help our workaways improve English skills as much as possible and enjoying learning about their home culture and travels.

    The home team of 9 staff have a large variety of skills, from cooking, cleaning, gardening, woodwork and many more. There is a huge amount of knowledge within the team who are all willing to share in exchange for assistance!

    We prefer our workaways to stay a minimum of 6 weeks or longer so you get a full experience. Being organised, independent, willing to learn with lots of enthusiasm is a must.

    We can help you plan your journey and give you information to find the best way to arrive here.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help


    We are looking for enthusiastic Workawayers to assist with - maintenance, painting/decorating, gardening and help looking after our sheep and ducks. Any experience of these skills and/or woodwork/carpentry, brickwork and welding would be a bonus!

    Helping with events may consist of polishing glasses, laying the table, serving, clearing, washing up and running a bar. All supervised

    Helping in the kitchen may consist of the washing up, garden-picking, cleaning, preparation and cooking of garden fruit and vegetables. All supervised

    Helping with the sheep will consist of feeding, checking daily, trimming hooves, replenishing hay and water and monitoring for any problems. For ducks - cleaning house and feeding.

    We are a multi skilled team and we always have a myriad of jobs to be done around the Hall and grounds – no 2 days are the same!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a very little bit of French

  • Accommodation


    In return we offer a comfortable bed in either a private or shared bedroom within the staff wing of the Hall - shared by other workaways and permanent staff. All towels and linen will be provided, you will have the use of a shared bathroom and kitchen where there is a washing machine and tumble dryer you can use, there is also a small sitting room where you can relax and socialise with others. We have wifi in parts of the Hall, but our internet is very poor due to our location.

    We provide food for you to make your own breakfast. Both lunch and your evening meals on work days will be made and left for you, and food will be left for you to self-cater on your days off days. The team shares morning and afternoon tea break and lunch breaks together, dinner may not always be in company depending on who is in residence.
    Smoking is strictly outside the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    North Norfolk attracts many tourists yet is quite un-touched by time giving a great example and blend of rural life. The coastline has a wonderful variety of un-spoiled beaches and It is full of great eateries, potteries, art galleries, theme parks, craft fairs, bird watching, zoo’s, museums, you name it, we have it! There is plenty to do if you have the inclination to get out and about.
    If the team finds an event that all will find fun, we typically make an afternoon/day/evening of it together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    42.5 per week April - Sept 37.5 per week Oct - Mar

Host ref number: 786899111823