Mountains, permaculture and teaching languages in a beautiful area, Valais, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

Favourited 145 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi dear travelers ! :)
    My name is Erine, I'm a 23 years old girl from Switzerland. I am using Workaway as a travellers too and I've been to many places the last years. I am really happy I discovered this platform and grateful for the incredible people I met.
    This summer, I thought I'd love to be a host myself. It's a good opportunity because I now live in an amazing area of Switzerland where mountains, lakes and trails are just everywhere and so close. It's literally a dream if you're a mountain lover, adventurer, climber :) I'll tell you more about this below !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    How can I tell you this ? I may be a typical swiss girl for some because I literally spent my time in the mountains and I am really close to nature. So I'd love to show you everything you like around and I can talk to you about edible and medicinal plants, and about what's currently happening in Switzerland as I am really engaged in different movements.

  • Help

    Help

    P E R M A C U L T U R E A N D G A R D E N " W O R K "
    I am a passionate permaculture gardener and this time of the year is incredibly rewarding as there's so much to harvest and perserve for the upcoming winter. I have two big gardens, one of them is a community garden where many people come to help and share their knowledge. To me gardening is also a big social project where people can share a lot and become close. For exemple I live like 3 minutes away from the garden but sometimes need 4 hours to go back home because I am giving fruits and veggies on the way back and talking to neighbours, receveing other veggies or seeds or tasting local wine they just made ahah

    Here's an idea of the current work : harvesting and preserving tomatoes (there are loads of varieties, some very old and rare, and I try to save as much seeds as possible and spread them), perserving chickpeas, mountain lentils, linen seeds, ...


    T E A C H I N G L A N G U A G E S
    I'd really love to improve different languages, even while being on a trail in the mountains or taking potatoes out of the ground ahah (like we do not need to sit on a table and do some scholar (boring and not really efficient in my opinion) exercises but rather talk and share (that's why I think it'd be good if we have common interests) I'll tell you more about this below :)

    Languages I'd love to practice : English, German (you can write me in one of these two languages btw), and I am a BIG fan of Dutch <3 but can't say much yet


    M I S C E L L A N E O U S
    If you're a guitar player, I'd love to practice and play/sing with you ! I have an old guitar at home and you can also bring your or any other instrument, I just LOVE music and singing (especially in many languages!!)

    Art plays a big role in my heart and I am happy to host any kind of artists, there's always something to paint, custom or create in your own way here and I'd be blessed to keep a trace of your stay this way :)

    If you're travelling with a slackline : it's a big yes ! I also really enjoy boardgames

    I also have a huge passion for food and would be glad to discover some typical dishes from your country :)

    And if you have other suggestions in mind feel free to reach out and tell me, I'm always happy to learn new skills :)


    Some random but important informations

    - I do not host smokers, neither meat eaters due to moral and ecological reasons
    - It is quite rare but it happens to be raining a lot in this area sometimes so you need to be ready to get wet if we're working in the gardens
    - I would really appreciate to host travellers that are engaged and working to make the world a bit more equitable, fair, right aaaand you know what I mean ? Like if you're fighting for the wilderness, nature, animals exploitation, non valid people, homelessness, trans/non binary folks, women rights, etc then please hit me up ! And if you're showing interest in subjects like these, I am sure we'll get along :) : holistic medicine, shamanism, spirituality, trauma work, breath work, zero waste, food autonomy, minimalism, veganism/antispeciesm, birds and all kind of animals, mountains, non violent communication, children's education and wellbeing (I am a camp monitor since I am 16), sports like climbing, trail running, mountain biking, yoga, acro yoga, circus, dance...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner
    Dutch: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There's a free room in the chalet where you can have your private space and you can also use the big living room with an amazing view on the mountains and a peak (4'000 meters above sea level) where the snow always stays :) sunsets and sunrises are amazing here !

    I eat vegan at home, and at this time of the year most of the food comes from the garden which means it's the tastiest you could find, and soooo fresh :) We harvest tons of veggies likes all kind of tomatoes (blue, red, yellow, oranges, purple, dark, ...), beetroots, carrots, onions, beans, chickpeas, lentils, zucchinis, butternuts, ... it's really a big food paradise with fresh herbs and also fruits like apples, berries, apricots, cherries, and some nice neighbours allowing us to harvest the best grapes (and they don't spray anything on it ;))

    I'd love to discover your own way to cook if you feel like, I'm really open minded about the way we eat as long as it cruelty free and always happy to discover some new tricks !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

You just need to walk 8 hours uphill for this one ahah
Everything coming from our gardens :)
A beautiful glacier near where I live
Adventure days !!
Host ref number: 786773177375