Help with wood-related projects on a boat in beautiful Ucluelet, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 Chris the dad, Marysol the mom, Sol 3 and Luna 9 months (with buena our Mexican dog) living in a unique wooden ship in the fishing/surfing town of Ucluelet near Tofino. We have been a nomadic family for a while and loving the lifestyle here. You can check us out at whereisthehorse.com
    We live on the edge of the pacific amount parks, trails, beaches, and secret little paradises in the heart of First Nation communities. We live close to nature and try to be outside everyday. The winter time can be rainy, but so lovely in the forest or surfing.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I’m sure we can find what makes you happy and find way to get it. Is it nature, fishing, surfing, SUP? We are easygoing and love to share our lifestyle. It’s a pirate life haha

  • Help

    Help

    The boat needs DIY maintenance and being a full time mom and a working dad let us without time to do those work. So we want to share the beautiful lifestyle this nice town offers with a workawayer who has experience with wood related projects/carpenter. The tasks that needs to be done : wooden railing, drawers, bunk bed, corner sink, some finishings here and there. The person would live in a camper van by himself/herself. We would commit by projects and renew if there is a good fit. I would cook extra for you most of the time but you know, life can bring surprises time to time.
    We were thinking about 20h a week of work per week to get the job done.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As I mentioned, the person will be staying in a camper van in camping barber view. It’s great for a while, that how we manage when we got here. You have 30A to manage between heating and the rest. The thing is that while COVID, the showers are shut and we shower in harbour now... it’s 1 $ for 2 minutes.
    As I mentioned, you are welcome to eat with us when you work On the vessel I’ll get extra ready for you, As we don’t live together, you wanna have some food in the van with you so you don’t have to walk all the way here just to eat... we are new here so we’ll figure out what works best.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have a bike you can borrow, I go to tofino 2 times a week you can come along, hiking and trekking everywhere, fishing when Chris goes, stand up paddle, chilling...
    We are young family so we sure appreciate if you are kiddo friendly.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 785689435319