Help Building A Tiny House, Edible Food Forest, Freshwater Pond and Other Urban Projects in South Florida, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 242 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    479

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Stephanie. I am a veterinarian of 18 years. I love my home and yard. I have a bunch of projects I want to complete around my house. I do a little at a time and enjoy the manual labor.

    I am close to the beach and the Tri-rail to get around anywhere in South Florida. :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am attempting to develop a permaculture system in my urban setting. I have bee hives and a small chicken coop and the yard is being converted into a no grass, edible garden. As a veterinarian I also have access to some interesting animal experiences. I am a member of the local Japanese garden and enjoy taking my volunteers there if they have an interest. There are tons of cultural experiences available in South Florida on your off time as well.

  • Help

    Help

    I am taking volunteers for a up to two weeks at a time. If things are working out well we can re-evaluate a longer stay.

    I am in the process of converting my large urban property into 100% edible/medicinal/support landscape. Lots of projects going on.

    I need help with house keeping and gardening. depending on how many workers are here you may be staying in the tiny house or in one of my spare rooms. you will be sharing a communal bathroom with the other workers and Spammy the potbellied pig. I offer room and meals in exchange for 20 hours work per week.

    I have one hard and fast rule. You may not receive mail of any sort while staying on my property. I will gladly direct you to a mailbox company if you are needing to receive mail or packages.

    The environment here is relaxed but I do expect a solid work exchange. You are responsible for your meals and the cleanliness of your own space. These activities do not count toward your work commitment.

    My property is a small urban farm. There are chickens, a pig, and a very large and friendly dog on the property. Come and enjoy all south Florida has to offer and help me with my beautiful little slice of it.

    Your off time is your own. Delray was voted America's funnest small town by Rand McNally. I want you to enjoy this beautiful area. I am about a mile and a half from the beach and two miles from a very active downtown. We have bikes to use and the tri-rail is very close that goes from here to Ft Lauderdale and Miami for about $5.

    Using Tri-Rail I am 1:45 minutes from the Miami Airport. It costs $6.25. From the Fort Lauderdale Airport it is a 35 minutes ride and costs $5. If you take the Tri-Rail to the Delray Beach exit I can, sometimes, pick you up. If not, it's a 2.7 mile walk or uber ride. You can also take bus number 70 or 80 for $2.00 and that ride takes about a half an hour.

    If interested in volunteering with me please let me know a bit about yourself and what you are looking for with your experience here.

    I am 420 friendly and drink socially.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For the moment you will be staying in the house and sharing a bathroom with the other workers and Spammy the potbellied pig she is only in there at night to sleep and is very accomodating :) I am in the process of completing construction on a tiny house in my backyard. I intend this house as accommodation for my volunteers. For the moment the bathroom is in the house. It is a guest bath with tub and shower. I will be constructing a compost toilet for the tiny house and a hot and cold water outdoor shower as one of my current projects.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live just off the main bus line to downtown and the beaches. I also have two bicycles that volunteers are welcome to use. It's an easy bike ride to the beach. There is a commuter train that runs north/south with a station close to our house. Miami for a day or the weekend is very doable. There's also a bus that goes all the way to Key West.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    i require 20 hours a week

The hens provide organic free range eggs every day.
This is spamela sue Anderson. She sleeps in the guest bathroom so you'll have to share it at night. She never has accidents in the house but does strew her bedding around and expects belly rubs if you enter the bathroom at night.
Until the tiny house is complete, helpers are using my spare room
Bowling with the volunteers
taking a break from yard work by the firepit with goose.
agatha and gladys. two of four hens on property.
all goose needs is a margarita
Fire pit gazebo
stephanie



Host ref number: 782211149558