Help a retired Dutch officer living with two large dogs in Auvergne, France

  • France
  • Favourited 104 times
  • Last activity: 07/12/2022

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    This is who I am and who I’m looking for:

    Retired Dutch officer (63) living with 2 large dogs in
    France
    is looking for a spontaneous help, house keeper and dog lover.

    Surrounded by woods and fields


    My wife and I have to travel for a few days (weeks) every month

    You will have the whole house with a private study room and can
    spent lots of time in the living room, dining room and kitchen.

    (There must be a click with the dogs)

    Yana is a cross hunting hound (her nickname is "mouse")
    Spot is a Great Dane (his nickname is "Lummel")

    The farmhouse is at the end of small road and about 30 people live in
    this hamlet.
    Many pastures and lots of dairy cows.

    30 km there are three fairly large place and 10 km a village with
    shops.

    Enjoy outdoor grilling and the beautiful (distant) views.
    The climate here is pretty good.
    Motor boat is possible, but unfortunately 25 km away on a very large
    lake.
    Swimming in the wide stretch of the river Dordogne, here at the
    bottom of the hill.
    Cycling can if you have 24 speeds or more, because it's quite hilly.
    Walking/hiking begins at the front/back door.
    Horseback Riding I do not know, I have not seen any riders.

    The environment here is really beautiful, more beautiful than in the
    pictures.
    Large forests, vast pastures, the Dordogne river with very fast
    flowing streams and steep hills.
    Calm in this hamlet is delicious and the people are friendly.

    The neighbors, an elderly couple, have geese, cows, chickens, two cats and a dog
    We regularly visit them, I get French lessons and a cup of coffee.
    My wife speaks English and I speak Dutch, German, English and some French
    Meanwhile, We live 10 years in France. Before that time seven years in
    Germany.

    This appeals to you?

    Then drop us a message

    Kind regards,

    Johan

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal welfare
    Local habits
    Living off grid
    Cooking

  • Help

    Help

    We work together as well as cooking,
    cleaning, gardening and eating good food.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private bedroom and a privat study room and can
    spent lots of time in the living room, dining room and kitchen.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 779248697436

Feedback

Join our community and help us do our best to be auto-sufficient east of Marseille, France
Experienced dog lovers and fun, handy people needed near Boulogne Sur Gesse, South of France