Help us to finish off some decoration in our village home in Marseillan, South of France

Country

France

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English family with 2 grown up sons - they probably won't be around. We have an old village house in the centre of Marseillan (34), France. We are close to completing a total revamp of the interior and are looking for help with decorating and general maintenance (nothing particularly skilled, although DIY and carpentry experience would be welcomed). The space is vast, and the work will mostly will be a case of lots of painting! This is an ongoing project and we would welcome contact from people who would like to visit during 2022. Because of the situation with Covid we are flexible but cannot be specific about the exact timings for a visit
    We can accommodate either a single person or a couple, this would either be in our self contained apartment within the same building, or in your own double room - depending on which rooms are decorated and where we are working at the time!. If you have a car there is free street parking nearby, although there may be space in our garage.
    We would probably be looking for people to stay from between 1 week to 3 weeks.
    French speakers will be particularly welcome as we are keen to practice and improve our french language skills.
    If you think we would be a good match and you would like to spend time with us, in your reply please include details of the skills you would bring. eg DIY, painting and decorating, cooking, cleaning skills, french language.
    We would like you to be fully (triple) vaccinated please.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will stay in the centre of Marseillan, a lively village / town on the Etang de Thau, at end of the Canal du Midi, in the Languedoc Roussillon area of France. There are lots of bars, restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk, and the beach is a 20 min cycle ride away along cycle paths. We can lend bikes.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with decoration - we are in (we hope!) the final stages of the renovation of our French property. We would like help with the finishing touches, we have a lot of walls to paint - this is straight forward emulsion onto walls, there may be some other tasks such as cleaning rooms / windows post decoration, moving round furniture to set up the rooms, painting shutters and just being another pair, or 2, of hands to help around the place. Other skills such as carpentry or DIY skills would be welcome, but not essential. The work would be about 4 - 5 hours per day, 5 days per week.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would offer english language conversation and teaching, in return for french language conversation

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own double / twin room and own bathroom, this will either be within the main house, or in our self contained 1 bedroom apartment - this will depend on where we are decorating at the time, and which rooms are finished. The majority of the building work will be completed, so you will have the benefit of a newly fitted bathroom, and freshly decorated bedroom. The living space will probably still be in the midst of decoration.

    We will cook most evenings, we would love you to share this with us. We may eat out on occasion, you are welcome to stay in and use the kitchen facilities or eat out on your own or with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are within easy reach of Beziers (Beziers airport 30 mins away by bus), Montpellier and Sete. All can be reached by public transport. Marseillan Ville is a delightful town with loads of bars and restaurants, and a weekly market. We are 5 km from the beach at Marseillan Plage, we have bikes you could borrow, or for a less strenuous or longer ride, there are electric bikes available in the town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    It may be possible to accept a workawayer with a pet, please let us know if you would like this to be considered

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 776193774988