Help with English and Maths in Offinso, Ghana

Country

Ghana

updated  

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a Pastor and Educationist. I am 54 year with one wife and a daughter of 16years. I was sent as a missionary in the Ashanti Region of Ghana in 1996. I was to send the Gospel and plant Churches in the area. Run Mission has a vision of reaching the unreached now with the Gospel of the Lord and meeting some of the need of the community we are serving. Be it health , educational, social and many more.
    During my survey i identified a village where there was no Church, no good drinking water, no electricity ,no School no development at all. I was moved and had compassion for them so decided to plant a church and meet some of their needs. In 1998 i planted the a church there and started to meeting their need. In the year 2000 they had Electricity through the District Assembly. They have one bore whole to serve the community
    The road to the village was not accessible but it's now through.
    THE SCHOOL PROJECT
    Since there was no School the children who are interested have to travel about 3 kilometres to a nearby village where there was a school. The rest accompany their parents to the farm which is their major occupation. The Children do not have the educational right .Because of the distance the lucky who will have the opportunity to go to school must be about 8 years.
    I saw this as a challenge and started a School project in the year 2001. Two years later it was hit by a rainstorm to a collapse. I was financially down so i could not raise it again until 2010 when i revisited the vision. Now we admit children from 2 years upwards. The parent are happy to see the school because
    1. They can now leave their children in a safe hand to go to their farms.
    2. We don't charge any fees they only pay a small feeding fee.
    3. They are happy to see their children being educated.
    STAFF STRENGTH
    At the Moment we have 10 Paid staff: 6 teachers teaching (nursery, Kindergaten 1, Kindergaten 2, Class 1,class2 and class3). 1 driver, 1 cook, 1 attendant who help taking care of the nursery class and 1 administrative staff.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
    DIY and building projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Ghana and Offinso in particular is a place to be. The rich culture of the Ashanti Kingdom is desirable.
    1. The way we dress
    2. How we celebrate our festivals
    3 How we sing and dance.
    4. How we organize our funerals
    5. How we use the drums to talk and many more.
    I will be very happy to know the culture of the workawayer
    I would like the visitor feels that he is part of the family so we do everything together.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    1. At the moment we need some volunteers who will help in teaching ENGLISH and Maths in short term.
    The school is from Nursery, Kindergarten 1 and 2, class 1, 2 and 3.
    2. We may also need volunteers who will help the Classrooms building project.
    3. Most of the girls in the village are victims of rape and other abuses. We have given their children scholarship and trying to empower these Singled Mothers to be self sustaining to make life meaningful. We need a volunteer to help the Women Empowerment program
    4. A volunteer can help in the Child Sponsorship Project.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I want to learn some languages like German and Dutch. I know a little French and i will be happy to polish it.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I stay in a 3 bedroom and a hall apartment with my wife and daughter. One guest room is there to accommodate any volunteer. We have a water closets type of toilet, a bathroom and a kitchen. My wife is a food vendor so food is not a problem at all in my house. I would like to stay with a volunteer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    At the volunteer leisure time he or she can visit a lot of place to learn our culture. There are a lot of Touristic attractive places to visit if one wants to. We have Lake Bosomtwe, a beautiful lake surrounded by 28 villages. The Kakum National park, Kintampo Mokey Santuary. The rich culture of the Ashantis and Ghana at large is so amazing. There are transportation available either by Trotro or by taxi all the time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 771714145287